> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 31 December 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448162345
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 528

The Curious Room

Collected Dramatic Works

Formats & editions

Angela Carter's startling and inventive collected dramatic works

The Vintage Collected Edition of Angela Carter's works continues with THE CURIOUS ROOM, which contains her dramatic writings, including several previously unpublished plays and screenplays. THE CURIOUS ROOM includes a radio play about the demented Victorian painter and parricide Richard Dadd; reworkings of Puss in Boots and the Dracula story; a draft for an opera of Virginia Woolf's ORLANDO, as well as the film scripts of THE MAGIC TOYSHOP and THE COMPANY OF WOLVES. Revealing many of the enthusiasms and concerns which ignited Carter's fiction. THE CURIOUS ROOM is full of magnificent and startling new material, charged with the range and power of Carter's imagination and inventiveness.

  • Pub date: 31 December 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448162345
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 528

About the Author

Angela Carter

Angela Carter was born in 1940. She lived in Japan, the United States and Australia. Her first novel, Shadow Dance, was published in 1965. Her next book, The Magic Toyshop, won the John Llewllyn Rhys Prize and the next, Several Perceptions, the Somerset Maugham Award. She died in February 1992.

Also by Angela Carter

See all

Praise for The Curious Room

“The Curious Room brims with life...Fear, desire and mischievous wonder blend to make her work irresistible.”

Tom Adair, Scotland on Sunday

“Carter knew all about making images work in theatre. The proof is here, on the printed page...One of the pleasures of this book is watching a writer's imagination translate itself into visual and aural effects. We're allowed backstage, to peep at the wonderous machines of illusion.”

Michele Roberts, The Times

Related titles