> Skip to content

This is not a book of reviews. This is not a book that sneers at other books. This is a book about reading - about enjoying books wherever and however you find them.

The Complete Polysyllabic Spree is Nick Hornby's wickedly funny journey through reading
This is not a book of reviews. This not a book that sneers at other books. This is a book about reading - about enjoying books wherever and however you find them.
Nick Hornby, author of the bestsellers About a Boy and Fever Pitch - takes us on a hilarious and perceptive tour through the books he bought, the books he read and his thoughts on literature. He is first and foremost a reader and he approaches books like the rest of us: hoping to pick up one he can't put down. The Complete Polysyllabic Spree is a diary of sorts, charting his reading life over two years. It is a celebration of why we read - its pleasures, its disappointments and its surprises. And above all, it is for you - the ever hopeful reader.
For fans of Bill Bryson and Stephen Fry, and for bookworms eveywhere, this witty, passionate book will make you cherish the world of letters anew.
'An engaged and engaging ramble around one reader's mind' The Times
'Not only does it make you want to read more but, like all great books, it's also terrific company' Metro
'For anyone whose idea of a good time is arguing with friends about their favourite books...amusing and contagiously enthusiastic' Big Issue

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780241969854

    July 29, 2015

    Penguin General UK

    288 pages

    RRP $22.99

    Online retailers

    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Dymocks
    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • The Complete Polysyllabic Spree
    Nick Hornby

    EBook

    9780141902739

    October 1, 2007

    Penguin eBooks

    288 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • iBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks