> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 29 July 2015
  • ISBN: 9780241969854
  • Imprint: Penguin General UK
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 288
  • RRP: $19.99

The Complete Polysyllabic Spree




This is not a book of reviews. This is not a book that sneers at other books. This is a book about reading - about enjoying books wherever and however you find them.

The Complete Polysyllabic Spree is Nick Hornby's wickedly funny journey through reading
This is not a book of reviews. This not a book that sneers at other books. This is a book about reading - about enjoying books wherever and however you find them.
Nick Hornby, author of the bestsellers About a Boy and Fever Pitch - takes us on a hilarious and perceptive tour through the books he bought, the books he read and his thoughts on literature. He is first and foremost a reader and he approaches books like the rest of us: hoping to pick up one he can't put down. The Complete Polysyllabic Spree is a diary of sorts, charting his reading life over two years. It is a celebration of why we read - its pleasures, its disappointments and its surprises. And above all, it is for you - the ever hopeful reader.
For fans of Bill Bryson and Stephen Fry, and for bookworms eveywhere, this witty, passionate book will make you cherish the world of letters anew.
'An engaged and engaging ramble around one reader's mind' The Times
'Not only does it make you want to read more but, like all great books, it's also terrific company' Metro
'For anyone whose idea of a good time is arguing with friends about their favourite books...amusing and contagiously enthusiastic' Big Issue

  • Pub date: 29 July 2015
  • ISBN: 9780241969854
  • Imprint: Penguin General UK
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 288
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Nick Hornby

Nick Hornby was born in 1957. He is the author of five novels, High Fidelity, About a Boy, How To Be Good, A Long Way Down (shortlisted for the Whitbread Award) and Slam; three works of non-fiction, Fever Pitch (winner of the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award), 31 Songs (shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award) and The Complete Polysyllabic Spree; and a Pocket Penguin book of short stories, Otherwise Pandemonium.

Nick Hornby lives and works in Highbury, north London.

Also by Nick Hornby

See all

Related titles