> Skip to content
  • Published: 9 August 2012
  • ISBN: 9780718196806
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 656

The Coming of the Third Reich

How the Nazis Destroyed Democracy and Seized Power in Germany



Will appeal to fans of Ian Kershaw, Anne Applebaum and Anthony Beevor

Richard Evans' brilliant book unfolds perhaps the single most important story of the 20th century: how a stable and modern country in less than a single lifetime led Europe into moral, physical and cultural ruin and despair. A terrible story not least because there were so many other ways in which Germany's history could have been played out. With authority, skill and compassion, Evans recreates a country torn apart by overwhelming economic, political and social blows: the First World War, Versailles, hyperinflation and the Great Depression. One by one these blows ruined or pushed aside almost everything admirable about Germany, leaving the way clear for a truly horrifying ideology to take command.

  • Published: 9 August 2012
  • ISBN: 9780718196806
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 656

About the author

Richard J. Evans

Richard J. Evans was born in London in 1947. From 1989 to 1998 he was Professor of History at Birkbeck College, University of London. Since 1998 he has been Professor of Modern History at Cambridge University.In 1994 he was awarded the Hamburg Medal for Art and Science for cultural services to the city. His books include The Feminist Movement in Germany 1894-1933, Death in Hamburg (winner of the Wolfson Literary Award for History), In Hitler's Shadow, Rituals of Retribution (winner of the Fraenkel Prize in Contemporary History), In Defence of History (which has so far been translated into eight languages) and Telling Lies about Hitler.

Also by Richard J. Evans

See all

Related titles