> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 4 January 2011
  • ISBN: 9781407083087
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464
Categories:

The Calling of the Grave

(David Hunter 4)




Forensic anthropologist Dr David Hunter returns in a menacing new novel, perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs

When DI Terry Connor turns up on David Hunter’s doorstep one morning, it’s an unwelcome reminder of the past in more ways than one. The two used to be friends before Connor’s behaviour caused a bitter rift. And the news the policeman brings is even less welcome: the psychotic rapist and murderer Jerome Monk has escaped from high security prison.

And he's a name all too familiar to Hunter. Ten years before he'd part of an ill-fated Body Recovery team assembled to try and locate the graves of Monk’s teenage victims on the bleak expanse of Dartmoor. Only one of the missing girls’ bodies was ever found, and Monk’s own controversial involvement in the search led only to more failure...as well as a violent denouement. And now Monk is loose again - and inexplicably intent on targeting anyone involved with the original search.

Responding to a mysterious appeal for help from Sophie Keller, a young woman who also worked on the operation, Hunter finds that the past is far from as dead and buried as he believed. Neither the events unfolding now, nor those from ten years ago, are quite as they seem. And as Monk’s bloody trail edges closer, Hunter is forced to question who he can really trust. Especially when his own life might depend on it.

  • Pub date: 4 January 2011
  • ISBN: 9781407083087
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

About the Author

Simon Beckett

Simon Beckett has worked as a freelance journalist for national newspapers and colour supplements. He is the author of five international bestselling crime thrillers featuring his forensic anthropologist hero, Dr David Hunter: The Chemistry of Death, Written in Bone, Whispers of the Dead, The Calling of the Grave and The Restless Dead. His stand-alone novels include Stone Bruises and Where There's Smoke. He lives in Sheffield.

Also by Simon Beckett

See all

Related titles