> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 1 April 2010
  • ISBN: 9780553817515
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480
  • RRP: $19.99
Categories:

Whispers of the Dead

(David Hunter 3)


Formats & editions


Forensic anthropologist Dr David Hunter returns in a new visceral, intelligent and utterly compelling crime thriller, perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs

The victim has been bound and tortured, the body decomposed beyond recognition...
A second body is found. A nightmare is about to begin...
A serial killer is at work and the death toll is rising...
A brutal abduction - a helpless victim is taken...

In America to escape London and the violence that nearly killed him, forensics expert David Hunter needs to know whether he is still up to the job of confronting death in all its strange and terrible forms.

Then a body is found in a remote cabin out in the woods. And then another...

Pushed deep into the heart of a terrifying manhunt, Hunter begins to wonder if they’re on the trail of a maniac who simply cannot be stopped?

Shocking, cunning and heart-stoppingly exciting, this is the new crime thriller from this No.1 international bestselling storyteller.

  • Pub date: 1 April 2010
  • ISBN: 9780553817515
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Simon Beckett

Simon Beckett has worked as a freelance journalist for national newspapers and colour supplements. He is the author of five international bestselling crime thrillers featuring his forensic anthropologist hero, Dr David Hunter: The Chemistry of Death, Written in Bone, Whispers of the Dead, The Calling of the Grave and The Restless Dead. His stand-alone novels include Stone Bruises and Where There's Smoke. He lives in Sheffield.

Also by Simon Beckett

See all

Praise for Whispers of the Dead

“Beckett is one of the country's best crime writers...His books are intelligent, beautifully written and utterly gripping.”

Sunday Express

“Menacing, beautifully paced and with characters that wouldn't disgrace the incomparable Michael Connelly, this marks Beckett's transition to established star”

Daily Mail


Related titles