> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 April 2010
  • ISBN: 9780553817515
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480
  • RRP: $19.99

Whispers of the Dead

(David Hunter 3)



Forensic anthropologist Dr David Hunter returns in a new visceral, intelligent and utterly compelling crime thriller, perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs

'Menacing, beautifully paced' Daily Mail

Inspired by Beckett's visit to the world-renowned Body Farm in Tennessee

A serial killer is at work, and the death toll is rising . . .
The victim has been bound and tortured, the body decomposed beyond recognition.

Then a second body is found. A nightmare is about to begin.

Once a brutal abduction takes place, it becomes a terrifying race against time for forensic expert David Hunter . . .

  • Published: 1 April 2010
  • ISBN: 9780553817515
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

Simon Beckett

Simon Beckett is the No.1 international bestselling author of the David Hunter series: The Chemistry of
Death, Written in Bone, Whispers of the Dead, The Calling of the Grave, The Restless Dead and The Scent of Death. His books have been translated into 29 languages, appeared in the Sunday Times top 10 bestseller lists and sold over 10 million copies worldwide. A former freelance journalist, he has written for The Times, Daily Telegraph, Independent on Sunday and Observer. The inspiration for the first David Hunter novel came after a visit to the world-renowned Body Farm in Tennessee introduced him to the work of forensic anthropologists. Joint-winner (with Arne Dahl) of Europe’s largest crime fiction prize – the Ripper Award 2018/19 – he has also won the Raymond Chandler Society’s Marlowe Award and been short-listed for the CWA Gold Dagger, CWA Dagger in the Library and Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year awards. He is
also the author of several stand-alone novels including Stone Bruises and Where There's Smoke. Simon Beckett lives in Sheffield.

Also by Simon Beckett

See all

Praise for Whispers of the Dead

Beckett is one of the country's best crime writers...His books are intelligent, beautifully written and utterly gripping.

Sunday Express

Menacing, beautifully paced and with characters that wouldn't disgrace the incomparable Michael Connelly, this marks Beckett's transition to established star

Daily Mail

Related titles