> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 3 December 2007
  • ISBN: 9781846072598
  • Imprint: BBC Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 272
  • RRP: $19.99

Talking Heads

Formats & editions

The complete collection of classic monologues from the master of observation.

Alan Bennett sealed his reputation as the master of observation with this series of 12 groundbreaking monologues, originally filmed for BBC Television.
At once darkly comic, tragically poignant and wonderfully uplifting, TALKING HEADS is widely regarded as a modern classic.
This new edition, which contains the complete collection of TALKING HEADS, as well as his earlier monologue, A WOMAN OF NO IMPORTANCE, is a celebration of Alan Bennett's finest work.

  • Pub date: 3 December 2007
  • ISBN: 9781846072598
  • Imprint: BBC Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 272
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Alan Bennett

Alan Bennett's television series Talking Heads has become a modern-day classic, as have many of his works for the stage, including Forty Years On, The Lady in the Van, The Madness of George III (together with the Oscar-nominated screenplay The Madness of King George) and an adaptation of The Wind in the Willows. The History Boys won the Evening Standard and Critics' Circle awards for Best Play, The Laurence Olivier Award for Best New Play and the South Bank Award.

Also by Alan Bennett

See all

Praise for Talking Heads

“His finest achievement - indeed masterpiece wouldn't be too strong a word”

The Daily Telegraph

“Bennett's genius is his ability to satirize humanely. [His] prose is like stained glass: if you stare at it, you see things you missed”

New York Times Book Review

“It's hardly a revelation to say that Alan Bennett has proved himself a master of the modern dramatic monologue... One of the finest dramatic achievements of the past few decades.”


“Talking Heads places Alan Bennett in the highest tier of English dramatic writers”

New York Times

Related titles