> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 3 January 2013
  • ISBN: 9781849399760
  • Imprint: Andersen Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 352

Sorrowline


Formats & editions


The past is not a frozen place. Graveyards are not dead ends. And if the Sorrowline lets you in there is a hidden world of adventure waiting behind every gravestone.

Twelve-year-old Jack Morrow is used to life being complicated. His mother died five years ago, and his father is now headed for prison. But then Jack discovers he’s a Yard Boy – someone with the ability to travel through Sorrowlines, the channels that connect every gravestone with the date of the person's death – and he is quickly pulled into an adventure beyond anything he could have possibly imagined.

Finding himself in 1940s war-torn London, with his then-teenage grandfather, Davey, Jack soon realises that his arrival in the past has not gone unnoticed. The evil forces of a secret world are determined to find him – and to find out all he knows.

As Jack struggles to survive, he comes ever closer to unlocking the dark secret at the heart of his family, and to – just maybe – changing his own destiny . . .

  • Pub date: 3 January 2013
  • ISBN: 9781849399760
  • Imprint: Andersen Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 352

About the Author

Niel Bushnell

Niel Bushnell began his career working in comics before moving into animation on the feature films Space Jam & Lost in Space, and as an animator & illustrator for several computer games, including Harry Potter and the Philosophers' Stone. In 2002 Niel established Qurios, an animation & VFX studio which has contributed to many UK TV shows, including Spooks and Hyperdrive. He was recently commissioned by BBC Radio 4 to develop his sit-com, Ragnor Rock. Sorrowline is his first novel.

Also by Niel Bushnell

See all

Praise for Sorrowline

“Fans of Doctor Who and Percy Jackson are in for a huge treat, they won’t be able to put this book down until they’ve reached the very end”

Aquila

“Debut of the Month”

Julia Eccleshare, Lovereading

“The narrative moves along briskly carrying the reader with it . . . Will attract young readers of 11+”

Books for Keeps

“A really good thriller with cleverly created time-travel elements.”

Juniper's Jungle

“An intelligent read”

Creative Steps

“Original and exciting . . . A thrilling story with a clever premise.”

The Bookbag

“Great concept... that captured my attention. I would strongly recommend.”

Cuckoo Writers

“Fantastical elements of an alternate world. Many interesting characters. This will be a hit.”

100 great books before lunch blog

“Packed full of energy, surprises and original ideas. Cinematic visuals and wild adventure... sure to attract a wide audience.”

Culture (Supp to The Journal, Newcastle)


Related titles