> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 July 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407068572
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 560

Rumours Of War

(The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 6): An action-packed and captivating military adventure from bestselling author Allan Mallinson




Matthew Hervey is pursued by the French across the Spanish Peninsula.

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell and CS Forester, another engrossing Matthew Hervey adventure from the pen of THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR Allan Mallinson.
"Captain Matthew Hervey is as splendid a hero as ever sprang from an author's pen." -- THE TIMES
"I enjoyed the adventure immensely...As compelling, vivid and plausible as any war novel I've ever read" -- DAILY TELEGRAPH

"
With this intelligent but pacy book, Brigadier Mallinson stays well on course to be regarded as the landlubbers' Patrick O'Brian" - SUNDAY TELEGRAPH
"Highly enjoyable novel. Great story. Thoroughly recommend for lovers of adventure novels." -- ***** Reader review

"An amazing author with an extraordinary knowledge and ability to recreate the famous wars of the late 18 and 19th centuries. A really worthwhile read, as indeed is the whole series" -- ***** Reader review

*********************************************

Portugal 1826: Newly returned from India, Matthew Hervey joins a party of officers sent to lend support to the Portuguese regent.

But the Peninsula is a place redolent with memories. For it was here as a seventeen-year-old cornet that Hervey had his first taste of military action: the French had forced the British army into humiliating retreat until, under the leadership of Sir John Moore, they made a defiant stand at Corunna.

As he prepares for battle once more, Hervey finds himself confronting ghosts from his past...

Rumours of War is the six book in Allan Mallinson's Matthew Hervey series. His adventures continue in An Act of Courage. Have you read his previous adventures A Close Run Thing, The Nizam's Daughters, A Regimental Affair, A Call to Arms and The Sabre's Edge?

  • Published: 1 July 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407068572
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 560

About the author

Allan Mallinson

A professional solder for thirty-five years, Allan Mallinson began writing while still serving.
His first book was a history of four regiments of British light dragoons, one of which he commanded. His debut novel was the bestselling A Close Run Thing, the first in an acclaimed series chronicling the life of a fictitious cavalry officer before and after Waterloo (The Tigress of Mysore is the fourteenth in the series). His The Making of the British Army was shortlisted for a number of prizes, while 1914: Fight the Good Fight won the British Army’s ‘Book of the Year’ Award. Its sequel, Too Important for the Generals, is a provocative look at leadership during the Great War, while Fight to the Finish is a comprehensive history of the First World War, month by month.
Allan Mallinson reviews for the Spectator and the TLS and also writes for The Times. He lives on Salisbury Plain.

Also by Allan Mallinson

See all

Praise for Rumours Of War

With this intelligent but pacy book, Brigadier Mallinson stays well on course to be regarded as the landlubbers' Patrick O'Brian'

Sunday Telegraph

Mallinson's shrewd handling of the issues of discipline and tactics, the responsibilities of junior and senior command, and the self-esteem of the cavalry, reflect both his own professional experience and excellent historical judgement'

The Times

'As always, the author manages to integrate Hervey's life seamlessly into history...Rumours of War is as well-written, and as wholly engrossing, as any of the previous novels in the series' T. J. Binyon, Evening Standard

Mallinson writes in beautiful almost Jane Austen-like English and his command of history, military detail, horse-mastership ... polymathic.

Country Life

I enjoyed the adventure enormously...Mallinson's descriptions of what it's like to be on campaign are as compelling, vivid and plausible as in any war novel I've ever read

Daily Telegraph

Related titles