> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 July 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407093635
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 592

Rome: The Emperor's Spy (Rome 1)

A high-octane historical adventure guaranteed to have you on the edge of your seat.



A mysterious prophecy foretells that Rome will burn - only one man can save it

From THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING author Manda Scott, a heady, fast-paced and exciting historical adventure full of religious and political tensions, passion and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.
"As exciting as Ben Hur, and far more accurate..." - The Independent.
"A gripping tale..." - Daily Mail.
"I was totally engrossed..." - ***** Reader review.

*****************************************

AD 64: ROME IS BURNING. ONLY ONE MAN CAN SAVE IT.

The Emperor: Nero, Emperor of Rome and feared by his subjects for his temper and cruelty, is in possession of an ancient document predicting that Rome will burn.

The Spy: Sebastos Pantera, assassin and spy for the Roman Legions is ordered to stop the impending cataclysm. He knows that if he doesn't, his life - and that of thousands of others - is in terrible danger.

The Chariot Boy: Math, a young charioteer, subject to the wiles and schemes of the Emperor and the Spy.

Who will win this game, where death stalks the drivers - on the track and off it.

The series continues in Rome: The Coming of the King.

  • Published: 1 July 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407093635
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 592

About the author

Manda Scott

Over the past two decades Manda Scott has brought iconic historical figures back to life, reimagined and re-booted for the twenty-first century. Her crime novels have been shortlisted for many awards including Hen's Teeth for the Orange Prize and No Good Deed for an Edgar Award. Her work has been translated into over twenty languages.

Manda’s bestselling Boudica series was recently optioned for television.

Also by Manda Scott

See all

Praise for Rome: The Emperor's Spy (Rome 1)

As exciting as Ben Hur, and far more accurate.

Independent

A gripping tale, with more to come.

Daily Mail

A heady, fast-paced, well-written, and exciting book...Brilliant stuff.

Shropshire Star

Related titles