> Skip to content
  • Published: 5 October 2022
  • ISBN: 9781529146158
  • Imprint: Ebury Edge
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $35.00

Quit

The Power of Knowing When to Walk Away



US bestselling author, cognitive psychologist and former professional poker player on the power of knowing when and how to cut your losses, for fans of THINK AGAIN, SWITCH and THE SUBTLE ART OF NOT GIVING A F*CK

Discover when to grit, and when to quit

We are often told that the secret to success is hard work, determination, and hours of practice. But in a fast-changing world, what if the really crucial skill is knowing when to stick at something and when to change track and walk away?

Quit makes the under-appreciated case for quitting and also shows you how to get really good at it. Drawing on stories from elite athletes to Everest climbers, comedians to musicians, Annie Duke (who left a successful poker career) explains why learning to quit well is often crucial to success. She provides clear strategies for working out when to cut your losses from a business product that isn't working, a relationship turned toxic, or a career that won't take you where you want to go.

You'll learn how to spot the blocks to good quitting behaviour -- escalation commitment, desire for certainty and the status quo bias -- and also how to use tools like quitting contracts, flexible goal-setting and premortems to help you quit cleanly and confidently.

Whether you're facing a make-or-break business decision, a life-altering personal choice or simply wanting to take more control of your life, Quit provides a toolkit for change to help you make the best next move.

  • Published: 5 October 2022
  • ISBN: 9781529146158
  • Imprint: Ebury Edge
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $35.00

Also by Annie Duke

See all

Praise for Quit

This brilliant and entertaining book documents a major flaw in human actions and decisions: the bias against quitting. I learned a lot from its compelling tales of failures and sound recommendations. You will too

Daniel Kahneman, author of THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

The opposite of a great virtue is also a virtue. And Quit is the perfect dialectical complement to Grit. Weave these two virtues into your character and live a much more fulfilling life

Philip Tetlock, author of SUPERFORCASTING

Engrossing, important, and grounded in science, Quit is a gem that will allow you to navigate the world more effectively

Katy Milkman, author of HOW TO CHANGE

You won't want to quit reading this book, both because it is such a rewarding read and also because its lessons are so important, useful, and memorable.

Don Moore, author of PERFECTLY CONFIDENT

Only a poker player could write this classic book on when--and more importantly how--to fold a bad hand in business, investing, relationships and life

Ryan Holiday, author of COURAGE IS CALLING

Every business school has a course in starting new businesses, but few have a course in shutting them down at the right time. This book fills that gap with brilliant new insights and fantastic stories. Quit what you are doing right now and start reading this book

Richard Thaler, coauthor of NUDGE

Quitting is not just an art; it's also a science - and there is no one so uniquely suited to teach us both as Annie Duke

Brian Christian, coauthor of ALGORITHMS TO LIVE BY

A game-changing book of strategy from a world-class thinker on risk and decision-making

Shane Parrish, host of The Knowledge Project podcast

Quit is the rare book that is both a page-turner and a legitimately important contribution. If you've never thought of quitting as a competitive advantage before, prepare to be enlightened

David Epstein, bestselling author of RANGE

There aren't many times you will say, "this book changed my life." This is one of them

Seth Godin

Not since Kenny Rogers has an expert storyteller so clearly demonstrated the importance of knowing when to hold 'em and when to fold 'em, nor presented a clearer strategy to determine when, instead of merely walking away, it's time to run

David McRaney, author of HOW MINDS CHANGE

Offers a wealth of knowledge to help you figure out when to persist and when to pull the plug

Adam Grant, #1 bestselling author of THINK AGAIN

Related titles