> Skip to content
Read an extract
Play sample
  • Published: 30 January 2024
  • ISBN: 9780241642108
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $34.99

Miss Austen Investigates




It is a truth universally acknowledged that every good mystery is in need of a brilliant sleuth... A Jane Austen-inspired murder mystery for fans of Richard Osman and Janice Hallett

Welcome to Hampshire, 1795, where a young Jane Austen has her sights set on securing a marriage proposal from the dashing Tom Lefroy at a local ball.

But when a shocking discovery is made – a milliner's lifeless body tucked away in a linen closet – Jane finds herself embroiled in an unexpected murder mystery.

As she races against the clock to clear her beloved brother Georgy's name, Jane uses her sharp wits to navigate the treacherous waters of society, unmasking secrets and unearthing hidden motives along the way.

With every twist and turn, Jane's determination to solve the case deepens.

Because if she fails, her brother will face the ultimate punishment – the hangman's noose...

  • Published: 30 January 2024
  • ISBN: 9780241642108
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $34.99

Praise for Miss Austen Investigates

Such a clever idea, pulled off with considerable deftness. The result is a sparkling treat of a read

Elizabeth Buchan

I absolutely adored Miss Austen Investigates! It perfectly captures the world of Jane Austen, and the character of Jane is everything you'd want her to be. Also a wonderfully twisty plot!

Theresa Howes

I adored it. Miss Austen Investigates is fresh, fiendish and funny. Much like Jane herself

Jennie Godfrey

Jessica Bull has managed to perfectly entwine a classic golden era whodunnit with the life and society of one of our greatest ever writers.

Kate Wells

Richly imagined and wonderfully plotted - a great read

S.J. Bennett

From the first page it sparkles with wit and warmth

Jane Dunn

Such a delight! Highly recommend

Stacey Thomas

Funny, charming, clever and utterly absorbing. I am enchanted

Ericka Waller

Exceptional - the Austen whodunnit I feel like I've been waiting my whole life for! The historical detail was rich and impeccable with gorgeously drawn characters, all the twists and turns you want from a murder mystery and an incredibly striking Austen voice. I loved it!

Sophie Irwin

Sharp and energetic whilst simultaneously warm and heartfelt. This is a delicious treat for fans of Austen's novels and delightfully compelling mysteries

B P Walter

Hugely entertaining, this breathlessly paced mystery is given ballast by careful, thorough research, and intriguing insights into Jane Austen’s character. A gripping read

Helen Moffett

Miss Austen Investigates is an absolute joy of a novel that captures the era and Jane Austen herself with such heart, wit and an exquisite amount of detail. Beautifully written and completely immersive, it will keep you guessing until the very end

Fiona McPhillips

This book was a joy to read. I felt immersed in Jane Austen's world, and Jessica Bull's witty herione is so much fun to spend time with! Properly twisty, atmospheric, and delightful all at once. When I turned the last page I already missed Jane and can't wait for more

Kristin Perrin

A cosy mystery cloaked in Jane Austen's sparkling powers of observation and wit, Miss Austen Investigates brings a young Jane to life as she tries to solve a village murder that has struck far too close to home. With evocative detail and stunning historical accuracy, author Jessica Bull places the reader firmly within the Steventon terrain of Austen family lore in this remarkably assured and engaging debut. Blending the boisterous energy of Becoming Jane with the intricate plot puzzles of P.D. James, Miss Austen Investigates gives Austenites a wonderful new way to appreciate their favourite author

Natalie Jenner

Jessica Bull's debut novel is a sheer delight: a gripping murder mystery...it is also an intriguing and deeply moving love story. And it is very, very funny

Jane Austen's Regency World

Jessica Bull's writing is flawless, with a lyrical, subtle wit. It's like being swept along on a glorious wave. Can't wait to see what Jane gets up to next

Amita Murray

A note-perfect crime caper that has much of the wit and empathy of an Austen novel

Red

Delicious

Crime Monthly

Sheer delight. A gripping murder mystery. A hugely accomplished storyteller and Bull's writing style pays homage to Austen’s acerbic wit and elegant turn of phrase. I cannot wait for the next volume in the series

Jane Austen's Regency World

So clever and well done

Good Housekeeping

A brilliant debut

Woman & Home

This super-fun read is a total breath of fresh air!

Fabulous, Sun

I adored this so much. Jane brims with life and wit, the story is packed with delicious details to delight every Austen fan, and the puzzle is constructed as neatly as Emma. Bravo, Jessica Bull -- you are a genius!

Alex Hay

Jessica Bull combines genteel Georgian country living with the lively intrigue of a whodunnit to create a very satisfying read

Sunday Express

Sparkling...A brilliant debut that does Jane justice

Woman's Weekly

Discover more

Article
Jessica Bull shares how she entered Jane Austen’s world while writing her debut novel

She took up a few new hobbies, including horseback riding, sewing and Georgian dance.