> Skip to content

Get a glimpse behind the red velvet curtain.

Step out from the wings into a world of sequins, tutus, spotlights and stage fright; where people say ‘chookas’ instead of good luck and consider it bad luck to say Macbeth. Whether you’re a balletomane, regular theatregoer, opera buff or classical music lover, we’ve got a book for you.

  • From the greatest living Irish author, a brilliant and moving novel about fame, sexual power, and a daughter’s search to understand her mother’s hidden truths

  • Stars shine on centre stage. But what secrets lie hidden in the wings?

  • Music has always been Ruby's first love. But has it ever loved her back? Slip behind the scenes of the classical music world one hot, anything-can-happen, New York City summer.

  • Another thrilling (and rather theatrical) murder mystery from bestselling author Robin Stevens.

  • In her charming and self-effacing voice, Jenifer Ringer covers the highs and lows of what it's like to make it to the top in the exclusive, competitive ballet world.

  • Pauline, Petrova and Posy Fossil are orphans, found by Great Uncle Matthew (GUM for short) on his travels.  Pauline longs to be an actress, Petrova wants to fly aeroplanes and Posy would dance all day if she could! 

  • Agatha Christie called her ‘a shining light’. Have you discovered Margery Allingham, the 'true queen' of the classic murder mystery?

  • From bitter poverty to the stardom of the West - this is the extraordinary true story of one boy's great courage and determination.

  • A definitive biography of one of the twentieth century's finest actors and directors, written with great insight and verve by Simon Callow, & reissued here with a new preface.

  • The tumultuous life of the legendary French star Sarah Bernhardt--the world's first modern actress and international celebrity--dazzles in this stunning novel for readers of Love and Ruin and Mistress of the Ritz.

  • Published in time for Mother's Day, a book for every parent who has ever wondered whether to put, encourage or push their children onto stage, television or celluloid

  • When a nobleman's mistress is gunned down on the steps of the Covent Garden opera house, brilliant adventurer Atlas Catesby discovers a sinister family connection that compels him to investigate.

More Book Lists

Connections Through Time

As time shifts, the past, the present and the future converge.

Audiobook Clubs

Limited reading time is no longer an obstacle to joining a book club.

Our 2020 Summer Picks

Fill your summer chill time with our highly recommended reads.

Alternate Austens

Jane Austen is everywhere.

Bolts from Above

Unlikely stories of survival, courage and upheaval in the aftermath of airline disasters.