> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 4 July 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448164585
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 304
Categories:

Letters from Skye




A sweeping love story told through letters, spanning two continents and two world wars. For fans of My Dear, I wanted to tell you, The Postmistress and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

A sweeping love story told through letters, spanning two continents and two world wars. For fans of My Dear, I wanted to tell you, The Postmistress and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

UNITED BY LETTERS. SEPARATED BY AN OCEAN. DEVASTATED BY WAR.

A letter isn’t always just a letter. Words on the page can drench the soul.

Elspeth Dunn, a published poet living on the Isle of Skye, answers her first fan letter from Davey Graham, an impetuous young man in Illinois. Without having to worry about appearances or expectations, Elspeth and Davey confess their hopes, dreams and fears, things they’ve never told another soul. Even without meeting, they know one another. But as World War I engulfs Europe and Davey volunteers as an ambulance driver on the Western front, Elspeth can only wait on Skye, anxious for his return; wondering if they’ll ever get a chance to meet.

  • Pub date: 4 July 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448164585
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 304

About the Author

Jessica Brockmole

Jessica Brockmole spent several years living in Scotland, where she knew too well the challenges in maintaining a relationship from a distance. She plotted her first novel on a long drive from the Isle of Skye to Edinburgh. She now lives in Indiana with her husband and two children.


Praise for Letters from Skye

“This is an enchanting love story, told in a series of letters … It’s beautifully imagined and blissfully romantic.”

The Times

“This is a gentle love story. Telling it through letters makes the characters more real … given depth and richness by letters that speak straight from the heart.”

The Scotsman

“A captivating love story that celebrates the power of hope to triumph over time and circumstance.”

Vanessa Diffenbaugh, New York Times bestselling author of The Language of Flowers

“A poignant tale of a stubborn love that bridges the lives and wars of two generations, Letters From Skye gives the reader a story to inhale as well as read, unfolding amid the gripping panorama of a changing world—an absorbing and rewarding saga of loss and discovery.”

Kate Alcott, New York Times bestselling author of The Dressmaker

“A touching story of forbidden wartime romance, spanning two generations and two separate continents.”

The Reading Room

“Jessica Brockmole is a gifted storyteller who weaves beauty and emotion into her pages. Letters from Skye will tug at your heart and make you long for the salty air of the Isle of Skye.”

Sarah Jio, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Camellia and Blackberry Winter

“Very entertaining”

Sunday Mirror

“A fascinating, lyrical tale of love and loss ... Brockmole expertly explores the toll of both honesty and deception upon hearts battered by war and society’s expectations.”

Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Aviatorâ??s Wife


Related titles