> Skip to content

The earth-shattering final book of the Laws of Magic series!

The earth-shattering final book of the Laws of Magic series!

Aubrey Fitzwilliam, renegade and traitor. Instead of clearing his name in Albion, Aubrey has chosen to pursue his enemy, Dr Mordecai Tremaine, deep into the heart of enemy territory. What he uncovers about Dr Tremaine's plans promises to change the course of the war and the future of humanity itself. A hideous combination of electrical science and soul-shattering magic is bringing the world far closer to the edge of the abyss than anyone apart from Aubrey realises.

Aubrey must risk everything, or there'll be no world left to save.

Reviews

Hour of Need is the concluding book in Michael Pryor’s Laws of Magic series and it brings a good series to a fitting and satisfying close ... Having read Laws of Magic start to finish, I can happily recommend it.

http://www.fantasyliterature.com/

What makes The Laws of Magic such a joy to read? Well, there is the intelligence of storytelling that has created an alternative world complete with the politics and machinations of the era, but one where magic is routinely employed to solve problems. There is strong characterisation, particularly the four friends … Humour? Plenty of that, particularly in the wordplay. And there is romance, adventure and wonderful steampunk machines too; surely something for everyone ... Those who have read the other five books will already know that this is a must-read. This series is sure to delight even those who do not think of themselves as fantasy readers. The Laws of Magic will appeal to readers who enjoy Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan and Behemoth.

Judi Jagger, Fiction Focus

Pryor's conclusion to this great series is filled with some suspense, humour, insights into the machine of war and its purpose or lack thereof ... This is a series I am glad to have gone back to read in its entirety, as the author has cleverly crafted not just the tale itself but the character development has been realistic and satisfying.

Jo Schenkel, http://www.readplus.com.au/

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9781741663105

    May 2, 2011

    Random House Australia Children's

    448 pages

    RRP $17.99

    Online retailers

    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Dymocks
    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781742744247

    May 2, 2011

    Random House Australia

    450 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • iBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks