> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 June 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446411551
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 320

Katharine, The Virgin Widow

(The Tudor Saga: book 2): a captivating and emotional novel bringing the Tudors to life from the Queen of English historical fiction




The second of Jean Plaidy's Tudor series, continuing the life of Katharine of Aragon in this story of a remarkable royal marriage that inspired some of history's bloodiest deeds . . .

A beautifully evocative and enthralling historical novel from multi-million copy and international bestselling author Jean Plaidy - perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.
'Plaidy excels at blending history with romance and drama' -- New York Times
'Full-blooded, dramatic, exciting' - Observer
'Splendidly written and wonderfully descriptive' -- ***** Reader review
'I couldn't put it down once I had started reading it' -- ***** Reader review

*****************************************************
The young Spanish widow, Katharine of Aragon, has become the pawn between two powerful monarchies. After less than a year as the wife of the frail Prince Arthur, the question of whether the marriage was ever consummated will decide both her fate and England's.

But whilst England and Spain dispute her dowry, her unexpected escape from poverty waits in the wings: Henry, Arthur's younger, more handsome brother - the future King of England.

He alone has the power to restore her position, but at what sacrifice?

The Tudor Saga continues in The Secret of the Pomegranate.

  • Published: 1 June 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446411551
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 320

About the author

Jean Plaidy

Jean Plaidy, one of the preeminent authors of historical fiction for most of the twentieth century, is the pen name of the prolific English author Eleanor Hibbert, also know as Victoria Holt. Jean Plaidy's novels had sold more than 14 million copies worldwide by the time of her death in 1993.

Also by Jean Plaidy

See all

Praise for Katharine, The Virgin Widow

Full-blooded, dramatic, exciting

Observer

Jean Plaidy, by the skilful blending of superb storytelling and meticulous attention to authenticity of detail and depth of charaterization has become one of the country's most widely read novelists

Sunday Times

One of England's foremost historical novelists

Birmingham Mail

Plaidy excels at blending history with romance and drama

New York Times

Related titles