> Skip to content

A brilliant psychological crime novel for readers looking for something dark and disturbing: a man has done something awful, but now he's been accused of a crime he knows he didn't commit

Riktor doesn’t like the way the policeman comes straight into the house without knocking. He doesn’t like the arrogant way he observes his home.The policeman doesn’t tell him why he’s there, and Riktor doesn’t ask. Because he knows he’s guilty of a terrible crime.

But it turns out that the policeman isn’t looking for a missing person. He is accusing Riktor of something totally unexpected. Riktor doesn’t have a clear conscience, but this is a crime he certainly didn’t commit.

Reviews

An absolute must for any fan of thrillers who wants something a bit dark and disturbing... Fans of both Kathy Reichs and Sophie Hannah should enjoy this book immensely.

We Love This Book

The storytelling is outstanding... Dark, brilliant, and guaranteed to leave you a little queasy

CrimeFictionLover

Unsettling and scarily well written

Ian Rankin, Guardian

A dark and disturbing thriller - a story of madness which is controlled and kept hidden until anger and rage break that control and the dark depths spring out

Get West London

Another off-kilter winner

Ian Rankin, Scotsman

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780099571834

    September 1, 2014

    Vintage

    256 pages

    RRP $19.99

    Online retailers

    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Dymocks
    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781448104642

    July 25, 2013

    Vintage Digital

    256 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • iBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks