> Skip to content

An Australian historical saga that will appeal to readers of Bryce Courtenay and Judy Nunn.

Can one man’s revenge become his redemption?
Young Luke Tyler has everything going for him: brains, looks and a larrikin charm that turns heads. The future appears bright, until he defends his sister from the powerful Sir Henry Abbot. His reward is fifteen years hard labour on a prison farm in Tasmania’s remote highlands.

Luke escapes, finding sanctuary with a local philanthropist, Daniel Campbell, and starting a forbidden relationship with Daniel's daughter, Belle. But when Luke is betrayed, he must flee or be hanged.
With all seeming lost, Luke sails to South Africa to start afresh. Yet he remains haunted by the past, and by Belle, the woman he can’t forget. When he returns to seek revenge and reclaim his life, his actions will have shattering consequences – for the innocent as well as the guilty.

Set against a backdrop of wild Tasmania, Australian gold and African diamonds, Fortune’s Son is an epic story of betrayal, love and one man’s struggle to triumph over adversity and find his way home.

PRAISE FOR JENNIFER SCOULLAR
‘Scoullar, it turns out, is a writer of documentary calibre…lovely, lyrical prose.’ The Australian
‘Scoullar’s writing has a rich complexity. Poetic and visual … the landscape vivid and alive.’ Reading, Writing and Riesling

Formats & editions

  • Trade Paperback

    9780143783527

    May 29, 2017

    Michael Joseph

    432 pages

    RRP $32.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781760143411

    May 29, 2017

    Penguin eBooks

    384 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Jennifer Scoullar

Journey's End
Turtle Reef
Billabong Bend
Currawong Creek
Brumby's Run

Recommendations

Voyager
The Tea Gardens
The Award
An Uncommon Woman
Beauty in Thorns
Tulip Fever
The French Perfumer
Munich
Catch-22: 50th Anniversary Edition
The Drover's Wife
Life After Life
Elianne
The Woman in the Wood
A Fortunate Life
Dunstan
Mrs Osmond
The Power Of One
Wide Sargasso Sea
Suite Francaise
For the Winner