> Skip to content

THREE GIRLS. THREE TRAGEDIES. ONE UNTHINKABLE SECRET. An addictive psychological thriller full of twists to keep you awake at night, perfect for fans of In a Dark Dark Wood and The Girl Before

TO SURVIVE A KILLER, YOU NEED A KILLER'S INSTINCT
An unbelievably gripping psychological thriller to keep you awake at night full of twists you'll NEVER see coming.

'If you liked GONE GIRL, you'll like this' Stephen King

Three girls. Three tragedies. One unthinkable secret.

The media calls them the Final Girls – Quincy, Sam, Lisa – the infamous group that no one wants to be part of. The sole survivors of three separate killing sprees, they are linked by their shared trauma.
But when Lisa dies in mysterious circumstances and Sam shows up unannounced on her doorstep, Quincy must admit that she doesn’t really know anything about the other Final Girls. Can she trust them? Or can there only ever be one?
All Quincy knows is one thing: she is next.
An addictive thriller to keep you turning the pages late at night. Fans of In a Dark Dark Wood by Ruth Ware, The Girl Before by JP Delaney and Sweet Little Lies by Caz Frear will love Final Girls.
**********

Why readers are loving thrilling psychological suspense novel FINAL GIRLS
'I was drawn into this intense story from the very first page until the tremendously gripping end - unputdownable and addictive' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'This is an atmospheric thriller I couldn't stop reading. A brilliant and gripping read' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'I devoured this one in two sittings. Could not put it down and the author dropped in some fantastic twists I never saw coming' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Reviews

Praise for FINAL GIRLS by Riley Sager - the twisty psychological thriller - for fans of Caz Frear, JP Delaney and Ruth Ware: The first great thriller of 2017 is almost here: FINAL GIRLS, by Riley Sager. If you liked GONE GIRL, you’ll like this

Stephen King

Fantastic

Whoopi Goldberg, The View

A tense thriller you won’t want to put down until you find out what's really going on

Stylist

When you stop breathing for the first couple of pages of a book, you know you’re in for a treat ... Gripping, fast-paced and full of twists - the perfect holiday read.

Grazia

The must-be-a-movie thriller ... one for slasher-fic fans

Glamour

The FINAL GIRLS need you. You must sit down with this book, you must read. You must start flipping pages, faster, faster, faster. The FINAL GIRLS are tough, everything survivors should be. But the new threat is clever, ominous, even closer than you suspect. You are about to gasp. You might drop the book. You may have to look over your shoulder. But you must keep reading. This is the best book of 2017, the FINAL GIRLS need you.

Lisa Gardner

A terrific read!

Karin Slaughter,, New York Times and international bestselling thriller writer

An intriguing original idea. We’ve all shuddered at bloodbath stories – but how does the survivor cope? It made me think outside the psychological box. Fresh voice, great characterisation and unexpected surprises. This stayed in my mind because it was different

Jane Corry,, the Sunday Times bestselling author of My Husband's Wife

A great thriller that gave me goosebumps and kept me reading into the night. There were so many unexpected revelations that I had no idea where it was going. A must read

Katerina Diamond,, bestselling author of The Teacher and The Secret

Phenomenally drawn characters and an intriguing premise make this one of my favorite books I've read this year. An outstanding debut

Hollie Overton,, Sunday Times bestselling author of Baby Doll

Stephen King dubbed this page-turner about three women with a seriously grim bond the “first great thriller of 2017.” So yeah, it’s good

Cosmopolitan

Original, fast-paced, and terrifying. FINAL GIRLS takes an unflinching look at the price to be paid for surviving. You will not be able to put this book down!

Amy Engel,, author of The Roanoke Girls

Captivating and compelling, with a refreshingly brilliant premise, Riley Sager is one to watch

Lisa Hall,, author of Between You and Me

The tale builds to a fantastic conclusion that will have readers thinking of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl and Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train . . . This brilliant horror/psychological thriller will fly off the shelves

Library Journal (starred review)

You know the cold dread that washes over you while you’re watching a slasher flick? That’s how you’ll feel reading this blood-spattered mystery

Entertainment Weekly

inventive, well-crafted ... A fresh voice in psychological suspense

Kirkus Reviews

FINAL GIRLS is a compulsive read, with characters who are at once unreliable and sympathetic. Just when you think you’ve figured out the plot, the story pivots in a startling new direction. … A taut and original mystery that will keep you up late trying to figure out a final twist that you won’t see coming

Carla Norton,, bestselling author of THE EDGE OF NORMAL and WHAT DOESNâ??T KILL HER

Part psychological thriller, part homage to slasher flicks and film noir, FINAL GIRLS has a little bit of everything: a suspicious death, a damaged heroine, an unwelcome guest who trades in secrets, and not a single character you can trust. Plenty of nail-biting fun!

Hester Young,, author of THE GATES OF EVANGELINE

Smart and provocative, with plenty of twists and turns, FINAL GIRLS will have the reader racing breathlessly toward its shocking conclusion

Sophie Littlefield,, award-winning author of THE GUILTY ONE and THE MISSING PLACE

There are uncommon books and films that crack the ‘safe place,’ that have us forgetting it’s only a story. Nobody knows exactly how this is done, but when it’s done, we know it. Final Girls is operating on that plane; you will check your own arm for a wound a character suffers, you will look across the room when a character hears someone coming, and you will wonder if you yourself have the mettle to endure being a Final Girl.

Josh Malerman,, author of BIRD BOX

Sager cleverly plays on horror movie themes from Scream to Single White Female, creating an homage without camp. Despite comparisons to Gone Girl, this debut’s strong character development and themes of rebirth and redemption align more closely with Flynn’s Dark Places

Booklist (starred review)

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9781785034046

    February 12, 2018

    Ebury Press

    RRP $19.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • Trade Paperback

    9781785034039

    July 17, 2017

    Ebury Press

    368 pages

    RRP $32.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781473529915

    July 13, 2017

    Ebury Digital

    352 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo

Also by Riley Sager

Last Time I Lied

Recommendations

The Thirst
Make Me
The Girl on the Train
The Black Book
Don't Let Go
The Child
The Couple Next Door
Inferno
I Am Pilgrim
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
If I Die Before I Wake
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Fifty Fifty
Crimson Lake
The Girl Who Was Taken
The Murder of Allison Baden-Clay
Mine
Orphan X
Idaho
Need To Know