> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 2 May 2019
  • ISBN: 9781473573673
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

Escape

Our journey home through war-torn Germany




An incredible true story of sisterly love and courage, for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice

Two sisters.
One extraordinary true story.

Germany, 1945. Trapped between advancing armies, stranded hundreds of miles from their mother, and with their father missing in action, sisters Barbie and Eva were confronted with an impossible choice.

Should they stay and face invasion or risk their lives to find their mother?

Together, they set out on a perilous three-hundred mile journey on foot across a country ravaged by war. Fuelled by courage and love, Eva and seven-year-old Barbie encounter incredible hardship, extraordinary bravery, and overwhelming generosity.

Against all odds, they both survived.
But neither sister came out of the journey unscathed . . .

This is the powerful true story of their escape.
(Previously published as Little Girl Lost)

  • Pub date: 2 May 2019
  • ISBN: 9781473573673
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

About the Author

Barbie Probert-Wright

Barbie was born in Germany in 1939. She moved to the UK in her early twenties as a student, married an Englishman, and has lived here ever since.

Also by Barbie Probert-Wright

See all

Praise for Escape

“Incredible”

Sunday Express

“An amazing story”

Daily Mail

“Compelling reading”

The Good Book Guide

“A sensational book that is sure to move you.”

Everybody's Reviewing, blog


Related titles