> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 3 October 2011
  • ISBN: 9781409011262
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 480
Categories:

Defender of Rome

(Gaius Valerius Verrens 2)


Formats & editions


'A master of his discipline rightly hailed as one of the best historical novelists writing today' Daily Express

This riveting and action-packed historical thriller from bestselling author Douglas Jackson is real edge of your seat stuff! Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane.

Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens!
"Absolutely incredible." - 5 STARS.
"Gripping, violent and captivating." - 5 STARS.
"The best Roman historical series I've yet read. Just pips Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden." - 5 STARS

**************************************************************

Gaius Valerius Verrens returns to Rome from the successful campaign against Boudicca in Britain. But he is not the man he once was - scarred both physically and emotionally by the battles he has fought. And neither is Rome the same city as the one he left.

The Emperor Nero grows increasingly paranoid. There is talk of a new threat, one found within the walls of Rome itself. A new religious sect, the followers of Christus, deny Nero's divinity and are rumoured to be spreading sedition.

Nero calls on Valerius to seek out this rebel sect and to capture their leader. Failure would be to forfeit his life, and the lives of twenty thousand Judaeans living in Rome.

But as Valerius begins his search, a quest which will take him to the edge of the empire, he will discover that success may cost him nearly as much as failure.

Gaius Valerius Verrens's adventures continue in Avenger of Rome.

  • Pub date: 3 October 2011
  • ISBN: 9781409011262
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 480

About the Author

Douglas Jackson

A journalist by profession, Douglas Jackson transformed a lifelong fascination for Rome and the Romans in to his first two highly-praised novels, Caligula and Claudius. His third, Hero of Rome, introduced readers to a new series hero, Gaius Valerius Verrens. Seven further novels featuring Valerius have followed - the most recent being Glory of Rome - and have won critical acclaim and confirm their author as one of the UK's foremost historical novelists. An active member of the Historical Writers Association and the Historical Novel Society, Douglas Jackson lives near Stirling in Scotland.

Also by Douglas Jackson

See all

Related titles