> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 1 September 2010
  • ISBN: 9781409084068
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464
Categories:

Claudius

Historical Fiction


Formats & editions


A gripping and visceral novel of the Roman invasion of Britain, for fans of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.

Rome 43AD Emperor Claudius has unleashed his legions against the rebellious island of Britannia.

In Southern England, Caratacus, war chief of the Britons, watches from a hilltop as the scarlet cloaks of the Roman legions spread across his land like blood. He must unite the tribes for a desperate last stand.

Among the legions marches Rufus, keeper of the Emperor’s elephant. Claudius has a special role for him, and his elephant, in the coming war.

Claudius is a masterful retelling of one of the greatest stories from Roman history, the conquest of Britain. It is an epic story of ambition, courage, conspiracy, battle and bloodshed.

  • Pub date: 1 September 2010
  • ISBN: 9781409084068
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

About the Author

Douglas Jackson

A journalist by profession, Douglas Jackson transformed a lifelong fascination for Rome and the Romans in to his first two highly-praised novels, Caligula and Claudius. His third, Hero of Rome, introduced readers to a new series hero, Gaius Valerius Verrens. Seven further novels featuring Valerius have followed - the most recent being Glory of Rome - and have won critical acclaim and confirm their author as one of the UK's foremost historical novelists. An active member of the Historical Writers Association and the Historical Novel Society, Douglas Jackson lives near Stirling in Scotland.

Also by Douglas Jackson

See all

Praise for Claudius

“What stands out are Jackson's superb battle scenes. I lost myself in the riveting depictions of combat, hoping against hope that somehow the British would prevail . . . I was gripped from start to finish”

Ben Kane, author of The Forgotten Legion

“Jackson triumphs . . . If I were Conn Iggulden or Simon Scarrow, I'd be rather worried by the new Scottish kid on the block.”

The Scotsman

“A master of his discipline rightly hailed as one of the best historical novelists writing today”

Daily Express


Related titles