> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 September 2010
  • ISBN: 9781409084068
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

Claudius

An action-packed historical page-turner full of intrigue and suspense…



A gripping and visceral novel of the Roman invasion of Britain, for fans of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.

From bestselling author Douglas Jackson, a gripping and visceral novel of the Roman invasion of Britain, for fans of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow."What stands out are Jackson's superb battle scenes. I lost myself in the riveting depictions of combat . . . I was gripped from start to finish." -- Ben Kane. "You will be reading this and saying to yourself, "Just one more page!"..." - ***** Reader review. "THIS is the story I was waiting on!" - ***** Reader review. ********************************************************************EMPEROR OF ROME. CONQUEROR OF BRITAIN. 43 AD. Southern England. Caratacus, war chief of the Britons, watches as the scarlet cloaks of the Roman legions spread across his lands like blood.

In Rome, Emperor Claudius desires total conquest and dreams of taking his place in history alongside his illustrious forebears Caesar and Augustus.

Among the legions marches Rufus, keeper of the Emperor's elephant. War is coming and the united tribes of Britain will make a desperate stand against the might of Rome in their fight for freedom.

The Emperor has a very special purpose for Rufus and his elephant in the midst of the battle - will the Gods favour him?Have you read Caligula - where Rufus's adventures begin?

  • Published: 1 September 2010
  • ISBN: 9781409084068
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

About the author

Douglas Jackson

A journalist by profession, Douglas Jackson transformed a lifelong fascination for Rome and the Romans in to his first two highly-praised novels, Caligula and Claudius. His third, Hero of Rome, introduced readers to a new series hero, Gaius Valerius Verrens. Seven further novels featuring Valerius have followed - the most recent being Glory of Rome - and have won critical acclaim and confirm their author as one of the UK's foremost historical novelists. An active member of the Historical Writers Association and the Historical Novel Society, Douglas Jackson lives near Stirling in Scotland.

Also by Douglas Jackson

See all

Praise for Claudius

What stands out are Jackson's superb battle scenes. I lost myself in the riveting depictions of combat, hoping against hope that somehow the British would prevail . . . I was gripped from start to finish

Ben Kane, author of The Forgotten Legion

Jackson triumphs . . . If I were Conn Iggulden or Simon Scarrow, I'd be rather worried by the new Scottish kid on the block.

The Scotsman

A master of his discipline rightly hailed as one of the best historical novelists writing today

Daily Express

Related titles