> Skip to content
  • Published: 22 February 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446456279
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 256

Charity Girl

Georgette Heyer's sparkling Regency romance




A stunning, commercially-focused reissue of a Georgette Heyer backlist classic, perfect for fans of The Crown and ITV's Vanity Fair

'Absolutely delicious tales of Regency heroes . . . Utter, immersive escapism' SOPHIE KINSELLA

'I could mainline Heyer's Regency romances until the end of time and still not get bored . . . Georgette Heyer is perfect lockdown escapism' INDIA KNIGHT
_______________________

Charity Steane has nothing in the world but hope.

Escaping a miserable life under her tyrannical aunt, she decides to take her chances with her estranged grandfather in London. Now it's just a matter of finding him... And as a 'charity girl', with no dowry and no options, hope can only get her so far.

But with the help of the dashing and kind-hearted Desford and his dearest friend Hetta, it seems like Charity's fortunes might be about to change.

That is, until the surprise appearance of a long-lost relative throws things into chaos, and suddenly the three friends find themselves surrounded by blackmail and scandal.

Will their efforts to do right by each other plunge them all into ruin?
_______________________

'One of my perennial comfort authors. Heyer's books are as incisively witty and quietly subversive as any of Jane Austen's' JOANNE HARRIS

  • Published: 22 February 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446456279
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 256

About the author

Georgette Heyer

Author of over fifty books, Georgette Heyer is the best-known and best-loved of all historical novelists, who made the Regency period her own. Her first novel, The Black Moth, published in 1921, was written at the age of seventeen to amuse her convalescent brother; her last was My Lord John. Although most famous for her historical novels, she also wrote eleven detective stories. Georgette Heyer died in 1974 at the age of seventy-one.

Also by Georgette Heyer

See all

Praise for Charity Girl

Triumphantly good . . . Georgette Heyer is unbeatable

India Knight, Sunday Telegraph

Sparkling

Independent on Sunday

My favourite historical novelist - stylish, romantic, sharp, and witty. Her sense of period is superb, her heroines are enterprising, and her heroes dashing. I owe her many happy hours

Margaret Drabble

Related titles