> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 30 April 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446464434
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

Chains Of Albion




Reluctant hero Martin Jerrold returns in his second swashbuckling adventure in the vein of Flashman and Sharpe.

July 1806. Commanding a prison hulk full of French captives, Lieutenant Martin Jerrold thinks his war can't get much better. He's far away from the more life threatening aspects of naval service and he can keep his mistress close to hand. It all seems too good to last.
And so it proves. When one of the prisoners goes missing, Jerrold's comfortable world is suddenly turned upside down. Ordered by the First Lord of the Admiralty to recapture the Frenchman at any cost, he finds himself racing across England: from the stinking marshes of Chatham to the wilds of Dartmoor and the fashionable resort of Brighton.
But what makes this prisoner so damned important? At the Post Office, Jerrold's old friend Mr Nevell is curious; so too are politicians from either side, including the cunning Tory leader Spencer Perceval. Even the seductive Princess Caroline takes an unexpected interest.
As Jerrold - dogged by his usual bad timing, bad luck and bad behaviour - closes in on his elusive quarry, he uncovers a devilish web of treachery and deceit stretching back twenty years and ensnaring the most exalted members of society. And in hot pursuit are those who will stop at nothing to stop him...

  • Pub date: 30 April 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446464434
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

About the Author

Edwin Thomas

Edwin Thomas grew up in West Germany, Belgium and America before returning to England to study history at Lincoln College, Oxford. His conclusion to the short story 'Death by the Invisible Hand' was published in The Economist in 1997, and the first chapter of The Blighted Cliffs was runner-up in the 2001 Crime Writers' Association Début Dagger Award for new fiction. The first two instalments of the adventures of Martin Jerrold, The Blighted Cliffs and The Chains of Albion, are available in Bantam paperback.

Also by Edwin Thomas

See all

Praise for Chains Of Albion

“'At last, the nautical Flashman! Martin Jerrold looks set to become one of the great British anti-heroes, boozing and lusting his way through Regency England'”

ANDREW ROBERTS

“'Will fill the gaping hole stoved in the timbers of the sea-saga genre by the sad death of Patrick O'Brian...Jerrold swashes his buckles and splices his mainbraces to good effect'”

Scotland on Sunday

“'Rip-roaring...a rollicking yarn with razor-sharp dialogue, introducing a hilarious protagonist'”

Good Book Guide

“'The Chains of Albion is a cracking book. Fast-paced, exciting and funny'”

CONN IGGULDEN, author of the bestselling 'Emperor' novels


Related titles