> Skip to content

The first Jackson Brodie novel by the author of When Will There Be Good News?, bestselling literary crime from a master storyteller.

Cambridge is sweltering, during an unusually hot summer. To Jackson Brodie, former police inspector turned private investigator, the world consists of one accounting sheet - Lost on the left, Found on the right - and the two never seem to balance.

Jackson has never felt at home in Cambridge, and has a failed marriage to prove it. Surrounded by death, intrigue and misfortune, his own life haunted by a family tragedy, he attempts to unravel three disparate case histories and begins to realise that in spite of apparent diversity, everything is connected...


Sharp humour, together with a number of unexpected twists makes this a typically pacey and intelligent read

Daily Mail

A greedy feast of a story by a masterful author...A profound, exciting and lingering read

Daily Express

Triumphant...Her best book yet...A tragi-comedy for our times

Sunday Telegraph

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback


    June 1, 2005

    Black Swan

    432 pages

    RRP $19.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook


    May 1, 2010

    Transworld Digital

    432 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • Audio Book


    March 15, 2010


    RRP $39.99

    Online retailers


    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Kate Atkinson

Life After Life
A God in Ruins
Started Early, Took My Dog
When Will There Be Good News?
One Good Turn
Not The End Of The World
Emotionally Weird
Human Croquet
Behind The Scenes At The Museum


Crimes of the Father
Into the Water
Night School
The Girl Who Was Taken
Private Delhi
The 7th Function of Language
Fool Me Once
The Woman in Cabin 10
The Bone Collection
Woman of God
Never Never
Good Me Bad Me
Different Class
The Crow Girl
Swimming Lessons
The Thirst
Best Laid Plans
The Woolgrower's Companion
The Traitorâ??s Girl