> Skip to content
  • Published: 27 May 2021
  • ISBN: 9780241505151
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 304

Berlin Game

The first novel in the Bernard Samson series is a dazzling return to Deighton's world of Cold War espionage

Embattled agent Bernard Samson is used to being passed over for promotion as his younger, more ambitious colleagues - including his own wife Fiona - rise up the ranks of MI6. When a valued agent in East Berlin warns the British of a mole at the heart of the Service, Samson must return to the field and the city he loves to uncover the traitor's identity. This is the first novel in Len Deighton's acclaimed Game, Set and Match trilogy.

  • Published: 27 May 2021
  • ISBN: 9780241505151
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 304

About the author

Len Deighton

Len Deighton is the author of over thirty bestsellers of carefully researched fiction and non-fiction. His history writing was encouraged by A. J. P. Taylor and his books are noted for the picture they provide of the German side of the fighting as well as that of the Allies. His books include Fighter: The True Story of the Battle of Britain and Blood, Tears and Folly: An Objective Look at World War II, both published by Pimlico.

Also by Len Deighton

See all

Praise for Berlin Game

Deighton's best novel to date - sharp, witty and sour, like Raymond Chandler adapted to British gloom and the multiple betrayals of the private spy.


Sheer consistent rightness page after page after page.

The Times

Virtuoso top level performance.

The Guardian

Spying at its most captivating and intricate.

Marcel Berlins, The Times

A labyrinthine espionage epic lightened with laconic wit.

Jeremy Duns, The Times

Deighton, as always, makes the familiar twists and turns of spy errantry new again, partly by his grip of narrative, partly by his grasp of character, and partly by his easy, sardonic tone.

New Yorker

Len Deighton's spy novels are so good they make me sad the Cold War is over.

Malcolm Gladwell

The Berlin Game trilogy made lockdown possible.

Olivia Laing

Deighton's outstanding achievement is the nine-volume series chronicling the life and times of Bernard Samson ... Deighton's Samson trilogies are as much about the elusiveness of human interactions as espionage. Spying is not a secret world sealed off from ordinary life but an extension of the world we all live in.

John Gray, New Statesman

Related titles