> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 16 July 2018
  • ISBN: 9780099592464
  • Imprint: Windmill Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $22.99
Categories:

Before You Know It

The Unconscious Reasons We Do What We Do


Formats & editions


A groundbreaking work of non-fiction revealing the powers of the unconscious mind, and explaining how we can learn to harness this power to think, act and live better, in the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and Daniel Kahneman's Thinking, Fast and Slow.

‘John Bargh's Before You Know It moves our understanding of the mysteries of human behaviour one giant step forward. A brilliant and convincing book.’ – Malcolm Gladwell, author of Blink and David and Goliath

How much of what we say, feel and do is under our conscious control? How much is not? And most crucial of all: if we understood how our unconscious worked – if we knew why we do what we do – could we finally, fundamentally, know ourselves?

From checking a dating app to holding a cup of coffee or choosing who to vote for, our unconscious secretly governs everything we feel, think and do. In Before You Know It, Dr John Bargh – the world’s leading expert on the unconscious mind – reveals the psychological forces that are at work behind the scenes as we go about our daily lives, and offers simple steps to improve your sleep, boost your memory and live better.

  • Pub date: 16 July 2018
  • ISBN: 9780099592464
  • Imprint: Windmill Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $22.99

About the Author

John Bargh

John Bargh, PhD is a social and cognitive psychologist and the world’s leading expert on the unconscious mid. He is the James Rowland Angell Professor of Psychology at Yale University and director of the ACME (Automaticity in Cognition, Motivation and Evaluation) Laboratory.


Praise for Before You Know It

“John Bargh's Before You Know It moves our understanding of the mysteries of human behaviour one giant step forward. A brilliant and convincing book.”

Malcolm Gladwell, author of 'Blink' and 'David and Goliath'

“Lucid, vivid, and entertaining; psychology reconceived through compelling and powerful storytelling.”

Gavin Francis, author of 'Adventures in Human Being' and 'Empire Antartica'

“This fascinating journey through the inner workings of the human mind reveals how our conscious thoughts and unconscious motives intertwine to shape who we are. An entertaining and intelligent book that will change the way you see yourself and the world around you.”

Jonah Berger, author of 'Contagious' and 'Invisible Influence'

“[A] sprightly book ... Daniel Kahneman referenced [Bargh] in the popular Thinking Fast and Slow ... A world-leading psychologist ... A useful textbook for anyone with a strong interest in the field.”

Sunday Times

“This book is a “must read” not only because it is about a fascinating topic – the nature of the unconscious mind – but because it is an engaging and accessible book by the scientist who did the groundbreaking research. Everyone should read it.”

Timothy D. Wilson

“I predict that this book will be the most important and exciting book in psychology that has been written in the past twenty years. Now Bargh reveals a new science of the unconscious that busts these outdated myths ... These are powerful revelations.”

John Gottman, PhD, Professor Emeritus, University of Washington

“John Bargh is – without exception, without exaggeration, and without competition – the world's foremost authority on the unconscious mind ... and it is no surprise that he has received virtually every award science can offer. [Before You Know It] is ... a spellbinding tour, written by the undisputed master.”

Daniel Gilbert, Professor of Psychology, Harvard University, author of the international bestseller 'Stumbling on Happiness'

“Professor John Bargh has been a consistently and systematically amazing social scientist for decades with his insights, observations, studies, and perhaps most important – their implications for the way we live and the aspects of our life that we take for granted... We can expect a fabulous book.”

Dan Ariely, PhD, Duke University, author of New York Times bestseller 'Predictably Irrational'


Related titles