> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 12 March 2015
  • ISBN: 9781448183104
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

At the Break of Day




A compelling novel about a young woman’s determination to make something of herself in a post-Second World War world full of struggle and austerity. Previously published as The Future is Ours. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Ellie Dean.

A compelling novel about a young woman’s determination to make something of herself in a post-Second World War world full of struggle and austerity. Previously published as The Future is Ours. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Ellie Dean.

It is 1946, and as Europe slowly picks itself up after the trauma of war, Rosie Norton faces a bright future in America. Evacuated in 1939 by her grandfather, she escaped the cramped streets of London to a new world in Pennsylvania.

Suddenly, at the age of sixteen, she is called home to a Britain bruised by war and still suffering the hardships that America knows nothing about.

While struggling to become accepted again by her family she is supported by her childhood sweetheart Jack.

Until Jack is sent to war in Korea and a homeless Rosie, together with the child he doesn't know they have, is left to fend for herself in London.

  • Pub date: 12 March 2015
  • ISBN: 9781448183104
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

About the Author

Margaret Graham

Margaret Graham has been writing for thirty years. Her first novel was published in 1986 and she is now working on her sixteenth. As a bestselling author her novels have been published in the UK, Europe and the USA.

Margaret has written two plays, co-researched a television documentary – which grew out of Canopy of Silence - and numerous short stories and features. She is Contributing Editor for Frost Magazine, and is also a writing tutor and speaker. She founded the Yeovil Literary Prize and now that she lives in High Wycombe she has launched and runs the charity Words for the Wounded. WforW raises funds for the recovery of wounded troops by donations, LitFests and the Independent Author Book Award writing prize.

She has ‘he who must be disobeyed’, four children and three grand-children who think OAP stands for Old Ancient Person. They have yet to understand the politics of pocket money. Margaret is a member of the WI, her local U3A. She does Tai Chi, and eats too much.

For more information about Margaret Graham, visit her website at www.margaret-graham.com and www.wordsforthewounded.co.uk

Also by Margaret Graham

See all

Related titles