> Skip to content
  • Published: 11 August 2016
  • ISBN: 9781448184330
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 288

Arrowood




Family lies, buried secrets and a terrifying search for the truth lie at the heart of this chilling, atmospheric crime novel. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.

'Kept me guessing and re-guessing all the way to its inexorable conclusion' Ruth Ware, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Woman in Cabin 10.

‘Superb and subtle psychological suspense, and a compelling mystery, too . . . I thought I knew who did it, but I was wrong—four times’ Lee Child

‘This robust, old-fashioned gothic mystery has everything you’re looking for: a creepy old house, a tenant with a secret history, and even a few ghosts. Laura McHugh’s novel sits at the intersection of memory and history, astutely asking whether we carry the past or it carries us’Jodi PicoultArrowood is the grandest of historical houses lining the Mississippi. It has its own stories and ghostly presence: it’s where two small twin girls were abducted ten years ago…

Now, Arden has returned to her childhood home determined to establish what really happened to her sisters that traumatic summer.But the house and the surrounding town hold their secrets close - and the truth, when Arden finds it, is more devastating than she ever could have imagined.

Family lies, buried secrets and a terrifying truth lie at the heart of this brilliant and haunting crime novel.

  • Published: 11 August 2016
  • ISBN: 9781448184330
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 288

About the author

Laura McHugh

LAURA MCHUGH's short fiction has been published in Confrontation and Big Muddy: A Journal of the Mississippi River Valley. She lives in Missouri, and this is her first novel.

Also by Laura McHugh

See all

Praise for Arrowood

Superb and subtle psychological suspense, and a compelling mystery, too . . . I thought I knew who did it, but I was wrong—four times.

Lee Child

Cool, clever and infused with a compellingly chilly melancholy, Arrowood kept me guessing and re-guessing all the way to its inexorable conclusion.

Ruth Ware

A failed graduate student's return to the family mansion she inherited from her grandfather touches off a maelstrom of emotion, regret and memories in McHugh's poignant second novel . . . Lyrical prose and in-depth character studies examine the reliability of memory, punctuated by believable suspense and aided by a careful look at a small town.

Publishers Weekly

McHugh’s slow exposure of an old crime is a pitch-perfect example of a Southern gothic.

Sunday Times

Magical

Daily Mail

This robust, old-fashioned gothic mystery has everything you’re looking for: a creepy old house, a tenant with a secret history, and even a few ghosts. Laura McHugh’s novel sits at the intersection of memory and history, astutely asking whether we carry the past or it carries us.

Jodi Picoult

An eloquently eerie tale.

Booklist

A pitch-perfect example of Southern Gothic.

The Times

A rare talent. Tight, beautifully dark prose, peppered with scintillating moments of light…A wonderfully crafted tale that will satisfy readers in ways they never thought possible. Brilliant stuff, indeed.

Chris High

A chilling, twisting tale of family, memory, and home . . . This engaging and thrilling tale about a young woman’s homecoming, the vagaries of memory, and the impact of tragedy on both a town and a family is a terrific choice for Laura Lippman and Sue Grafton readers.

Library Journal

Arrowood is a haunting and heart-breaking novel that puts Laura McHugh on the literary map.

Culture Fly

gripping.

The Bookbag

A lyrically haunting story…It’s so atmospheric you can practically hear the floorboard creek.

Peterborough Telegraph

An absorbing, spine-tingling novel brimming with atmosphere.

Daily Express

a superb, compelling read

Woman & Home

Related titles