> Skip to content

A gripping WW2 saga perfect for fans of Daisy Styles's The Bomb Girls and Nancy Revell's Shipyard Girls

In times of war, how do you know who to trust?
Celia Ashton has driven ambulances throughout the Blitz for the Bloomsbury Auxiliary Ambulance Depot. Cool under fire, she revels in her exciting and extremely dangerous job.

When her husband, a known Nazi supporter, is released from prison, Celia refuses to return to her unhappy marriage. Instead she joins forces with Simon Levy, a man who appears to despise her, to help a young Jewish orphan. In so doing she discovers that one ruthless traitor can be more dangerous than any German bomber, and that love can cross any boundary.

A heartwarming saga about a woman doing her bit for the war effort. Full of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak, this is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9781785034633

    October 1, 2018

    Ebury Press

    RRP $19.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • Trade Paperback

    9781785037764

    February 26, 2018

    Ebury Press

    RRP $32.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781473550360

    January 25, 2018

    Ebury Digital

    320 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo

Also by Deborah Burrows

Ambulance Girls At War
Ambulance Girls

Recommendations

The Narrow Road to the Deep North
Fifty Shades of Grey
The Golden House
Munich
Our Friends in Berlin
Warlight
Still Me
The Break
The Summer of Secrets
The Woman in the Wood
Man's Search For Meaning
Catch-22: 50th Anniversary Edition
Cloudstreet
Slaughterhouse 5
The Lavender Keeper
The Complete Maus
The Time Traveler's Wife
Spin the Bottle
Ambulance Girls
Spitfire Girl