> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 16 May 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448149674
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 352
Categories:

A Wolf in Hindelheim




Part Nordic noir, part Brothers Grimm. Financial Times

An atmospheric and gripping novel from an exciting new voice for fans of The Snow Child and The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared.

South-West Germany, 1926. The disappearance of a baby girl calls for Constable Theodore Hildebrandt and his son Klaus to visit the remote village of Hindelheim, a place where nothing ever happens. But the news of the missing baby has brought darkness to the community. It is as if someone or something wicked is playing a game. As the wind blows and the mist thickens, tensions rise amongst the villagers as everyone falls under suspicion. And when the rumours begin and secrets start to unravel, the quiet village of Hindelheim is set to change for ever.

  • Pub date: 16 May 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448149674
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 352

About the Author

Jenny Mayhew

Jenny Mayhew has worked as a TV researcher, studied International Relations in Sri Lanka and written film screenplays on both contemporary and historical storylines. In 2003, she was nominated for a BAFTA special achievement award for her screenplay for To Kill a King. Jenny has a doctorate in English literature and has taught creative writing courses at Oxford, Bristol and Manchester. She now lives in Edinburgh. A Wolf in Hindelheim is her first novel.


Praise for A Wolf in Hindelheim

“A strong, atmospheric debut”

The List

“Historical crime fiction is enjoying something of a golden moment and with her often ingenious and unusual debut, Jenny Mayhew adds significantly to the genre.”

The Scotsman

“Richly imagined ... A lusty tale of pre-war eugenics that cleverly pre-figures the historical horrors to come.”

Independent

“Mayhew can definitely write… with a richness and intelligence, and never a sense of showing-off... [A Wolf in Hindelheim has] a wide-reaching subject matter pinned down to a strong plot; and in every short chapter a sign that this is an author to watch.”

The Bookbag


Related titles