> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 19 March 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473560109
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 448

A Daughter's Price




A gritty and page-turning historical saga, from Northern England's answer to Dilly Court.

She thought she was finally safe. But a roof over her head comes with a price to pay...
Laura Cannock is on the run. Suspected of killing her bullying husband, his family are on a merciless prowl for revenge. Fleeing from her beloved home of Bolton to Manchester, Laura seeks refuge with her coal merchant uncle. But her relief is short-lived as it soon becomes clear that a roof over her head comes with a price – of the type so unbearable she must escape once more.

Destitute and penniless, a stench-ridden housing court in the back streets of the factories is Laura’s only hope of a dwelling – a place where both the filth and the kindness of neighbours overwhelm. Here people stick together through the odds, leading Laura to true friendship, and possibly love. But with the threat of her past still hanging over her, there’s still one battle she must fight – and win – alone…

A gritty and page-turning historical saga set in Northern England in the late 1800s, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.

  • Pub date: 19 March 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473560109
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 448

About the Author

Emma Hornby

Emma Hornby lives on a tight-knit working-class estate in Bolton and has read sagas all her life. Before pursuing a career as a novelist, she had a variety of jobs, from care assistant for the elderly, to working in a Blackpool rock factory. She was inspired to write after researching her family history; like the characters in her books, many generations of her family eked out life amidst the squalor and poverty of Lancashire's slums.

Also by Emma Hornby

See all

Praise for A Daughter's Price

“A woman’s lot was shocking in the 1850s as this Cooksonlike saga brilliantly describes... Have some tissues handy!”

Peterborough Telegraph on A Shilling for a Wife

“A woman’s lot was shocking in the 1850s as this Cooksonlike saga brilliantly describes... Have some tissues handy!”

Peterborough Telegraph on A Shilling for a Wife

“Readers love Emma Hornby: 'Similar to Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, Emma Hornby tells a brilliant story that will keep you guessing with twists and turns. Pure talent.' 'Emma Hornby's books just keep getting better and better. Honest, gritty, lovely characters.' 'Keep writing Emma, you are very talented and can't wait for your next book. I've read them all.' 'Emma is a wonderful storyteller and I can't wait for the next one!' 'Thank you again Emma Hornby for a captivating read' 'Another beautifully written story by Emma Hornby'”

Amazon reader reviews

“Readers love Emma Hornby: 'Similar to Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, Emma Hornby tells a brilliant story that will keep you guessing with twists and turns. Pure talent.' 'Emma Hornby's books just keep getting better and better. Honest, gritty, lovely characters.' 'Keep writing Emma, you are very talented and can't wait for your next book. I've read them all.' 'Emma is a wonderful storyteller and I can't wait for the next one!' 'Thank you again Emma Hornby for a captivating read' 'Another beautifully written story by Emma Hornby'”

Amazon reader reviews


Related titles