> Skip to content

Michael Innes

Book for an event

Born in Edinburgh in 1906, John Innes Mackintosh Stewart was educated at Oriel College, Oxford, where he was presented with the Matthew Arnold Memorial Prize and named a Bishop Frazer's scholar. After graduation he went to Vienna to study Freudian psychoanalysis for a year.

His first book, an edition of Florio's translation of Montaigne, got him a lectureship at the University of Leeds. In later years he taught at the universities of Adelaide, Belfast and Oxford.

Under his pseudonym, Michael Innes, he wrote a highly successful series of mystery stories. His most famous character is John Appleby, who inspired a penchant for donnish detective fiction that lasts to this day. His other well-known character is Honeybath, the painter and rather reluctant detective, who first appeared in The Mysterious Commission, in 1975.

Stewart's last novel, Appleby and the Ospreys, appeared in 1986. He died aged eighty-eight.

Books by Michael Innes

Appleby at Allington

Sir John Appleby dines one evening at Allington Park, the Georgian home of his acquaintance Owain Allington, who is new to the area. His curiosity is aroused when Allington mentions his nephew and heir to . . .

Read more
Death at the President's Lodging: Green Popular Penguins

Inspector Appleby is called to St Anthony's College, where the President has been murdered in his Lodging. Scandal abounds when it becomes clear that the only people with any motive to murder him are . . .

Read more
Hamlet Revenge!: Green Popular Penguins

The Lord Chancellor of England is murdered and Inspector Appleby pursues some of the most famous names in the country, unearthing dreadful suspicion.

Read more