> Skip to content

Date: 2003-12-08Hugh Thomas studied History at Cambridge and Paris. His career encompassed both America and Europe, and history and politics, as a professor at New York and Boston Universities and as Chairman of the Centre for Policy Studies in London. He was awarded a peerage in 1981. Hugh Thomas is the author of, among other books, The Spanish Civil War, which won him the Somerset Maugham Prize; Cuba: The Pursuit of Freedom; An Unfinished History of the World, which won the National Book Award for History; Armed Truce: The Beginnings of the Cold War; The Conquest of Mexico; The Slave Trade; and Rivers of Gold: The Rise of the Spanish Empire.

In 2008 Hugh Thomas was made a Commandeur de L'Ordre des Arts et Lettres in France and in 2009 received the Calvo Serer Prize, The Boccacio Prize, and Nonino Prize in Italy. He is the author of, among other books, The Spanish Civil War, which won the Somerset Maugham Award, The Suez Affair, Cuba: The Pursuit of Freedom, An Unfinished History of the World, Conquest: Montezuma, Cortés and the Fall of Old Mexico, The Slave Trade and the first volume of his Spanish Empire trilogy, Rivers of Gold, which was reissued to coincide with publication of the second volume.

Books by Hugh Thomas

World Without End

The Spanish empire was the greatest the world had seen since Rome. This final volume of Hugh Thomas's acclaimed history describes how conquistadores, viceroys, nobles, judges, inquisitors and priests ran a vast global empire stretching from the Americas to the Philippines, in an extraordinary epic of war, riches and religion. 

Read more
The Golden Age

Moving between Spanish conquest abroad and the court of the astute Charles V, Hugh Thomas's masterful work brilliantly brings alive one of the most influential and amazing moments in world history.

Read more
Rivers Of Gold

In this epic history Hugh Thomas brings Spain's rise to empire vividly to life, capturing the spirit of an ebullient age.

Read more