> Skip to content

Evelyn Waugh was born in Hampstead, London, in 1903. He studied History at Hertford College, Oxford, but left without a degree. After a brief period as a teacher, he published his first book, a biography of the artist Dante Gabriel Rossetti, in 1928. The same year also saw the publication of his first novel, Decline and Fall, which established his reputation. Further novels, including Vile Bodies (1930), A Handful of Dust (1934) and Brideshead Revisited (1945) were highly acclaimed. Waugh also wrote several travel books and short stories, and was a prolific journalist and book reviewer. Waugh died on Easter Sunday, 1966, at his home in Combe Florey, Somerset.

Books by Evelyn Waugh

Decline And Fall (Tv Tie In)
Work Suspended And Other Stories
The Life Of Right Reverend Ronald Knox
Vile Bodies: Popular Penguins
The Letters Of Nancy Mitford And Evelyn Waugh
Scoop: Popular Penguins
Brideshead Revisited: Popular Penguins
A Handful of Dust: Popular Penguins
Decline & Fall
Officers & Gentlemen
Black Mischief
The Sword Of Honour Trilogy
A Handful Of Dust
The Loved One
Vile Bodies
Put Out More Flags
Brideshead Revisited
The Complete Short Stories
When The Going Was Good