> Skip to content

Article  •  3 January 2020

 

What would Keith Richards do?

Style tips from Caroline de Maigret and Sophie Mas.

In Older But Better, But Older Caroline de Maigret and Sophie Mas offer wordly advice and savvy observations on the Parisian art of growing up. Interspersed with stunning photography, tips and tricks, this gorgeous, tongue-in-cheek guide astutely illuminates what it means to be a fully-fledged woman.

‘You know things aren’t what they used to be when you’re told that you’re “damn hot for your age”.’ write de Maigret and Mas. In the passage below they take us through their style philosophy and their muses.

Diana Vreeland, the famous editor-in-chief of American Vogue, said time and again: ‘The eye has to travel.’ In the sixties, when this iconic woman was at its helm, Vogue paid a lot of attention to artists and intellectuals. And it wasn’t just for show. Their presence makes sense on a very profound level, reflecting an essential back-and-forth between form and substance. Because inspiration never comes down to fashion alone – otherwise, we’d only ever talk about clothes, not style.

Borrowing from art, style is a way of knowing. Of accepting our own imperfections and making the best of them. It’s a philosophy that always guides our steps, varying with the muses of the moment.

Style is a way of taking on the world, of breathing in its scent. We filter it through our own unique, different tastes, making it our own.

Three muses we steal from:

When we slip into a jacket we like, but whose strict cut flirts with old-lady territory, we ask ourselves one simple question: what would Keith Richards do? He’d probably have worn it with lowrise trousers and a half-unbuttoned shirt, showing off his chest and a tangle of necklaces with no fear of overdoing it.

Mark Rothko: What’s a painter doing on this list? Rothko teaches us about colour and how the red is reinforced by the presence of its complementary colour – a strong concept when taking, for example, an overly blue outfit to the next level. Balancing it out with an accessory in the orange scale will produce interesting and original results. Let’s be clear, we don’t immediately think of Rothko when opening up our closets. But thanks to the time we spend in museums, among other places, some things sink in, germinate, and inspire us from afar.

Grace Jones embodies the idea that age can be liberating. That we can get away with not one but two strong fashion statements at the same time, without worrying that we’re going too far. The very red lipstick + the shoulder pads or fluorescent leggings + the tomboy haircut . . . make a statement and attract attention. Do what you want, the way you want – as long as you own it.


Older But Better, But Older Caroline de Maigret, Sophie Mas

The new book from the authors of How to Be Parisian – the international bestseller from renowned model and muse Caroline de Maigret. More than 30,000 copies sold in Australia and New Zealand. This humour gift book will appeal to fans of Dolly Alderton, Daisy Buchanan, Bryony Gordon and Nora Ephron's I Feel Bad About My Neck.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
Article
9 stars who are said to practice The Wim Hof Method

See Wim Hof's list of famous fans and try a breathing exercise from his book.

Article
How author unites people and place to create atmosphere in Stone Town

Margaret Hickey, prolific author, teacher, and playwright shares how her passion for landscape saturates her story development and characters in her new novel Stone Town.

Article
4 reasons why Atlas of The Heart is taking the world by storm

Everything you need to know about the book, the audiobook, and the TV series.

Article
8 steps to becoming a racial influencer

How to apply the rules of social media influencing to effect change in the arenas of race, human rights, equality and inclusion.

Article
11 fun facts about Gild by Raven Kennedy

Everything you need to know about TikTok’s most hyped fantasy series.

Article
Did you know? Bill Gates reads 50 books a year

Bill Gates, the billionaire founder of Microsoft, credits his hefty reading list for his success.

Article
The Glucose Goddess’ number one trick for dessert without the sugar crash

If you love dessert but hate the sugar crash that follows, this trick is for you. Jessie Inchauspé – AKA The Glucose Goddess – shares her top tip for enjoying sweets, so you can have your cake and eat it too!

Article
Tap into your inner knowing with this super easy exercise

Have a big decision to make? Don’t know which direction to go in your life? Now might be the perfect opportunity to tap in to your inner knowing.

Article
Lynette Noni shares sage advice for developing lifelike characters

Lynette Noni, bestselling author of YA fantasy The Prison Healer trilogy shares how she creates unforgettable characters that feel like real people.

Article
Shirley Marr shares experience as child that inspired new book

‘That memory will stay with me for a long time, it was really touching and something I will always remember.’

Article
Why the Australian outback makes a perfect setting for crime novels

An intro to the bourgeoning genre of outback noir.

Article
We’re giving away a one-of-a-kind Penguin bookcase

... and more (including $1000 cash and $500 worth of books)!

Looking for more articles?

See all articles