> Skip to content
Sapiens
Sapiens Yuval Noah Harari
A series of special editions of the best popular science books to explore the patterns of our planet. Designed by Patternity, the award-winning creative studio and pattern consultancy.
Read More
When Breath Becomes Air
When Breath Becomes Air Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.
Read More
Homo Deus
Homo Deus Yuval Noah Harari
Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.
Read More
21 Lessons for the 21st Century
21 Lessons for the 21st Century Yuval Noah Harari
The bestselling phenomenon returns with 21 bite-sized lessons to help us understand our troubled times.
Read More
Invisible Women
Invisible Women Caroline Criado Perez
An exciting and ground-breaking work of journalism and activism about women, and the systemic discrimination caused by a data gap that affects half the population – from an award-winning writer and feminist campaigner, who got a woman on our banknotes and a statue of Millicent Fawcett in Parliament Square
Read More
A Very British Killing
A Very British Killing A. T. Williams
Winner of the Orwell Prize for Political Writing 2013 This is the true story of a murder that sums up the stink of invading Iraq and why the Iraq story is far from over.
Read More
The Iron Lady
The Iron Lady John Campbell
Read the true story that inspired the major new film, The Iron Lady. John Campbell's magisterial biography is the political biography of Margaret Thatcher.
Read More
DarkMarket
DarkMarket Misha Glenny
The essential crime book of our times, from the author of the bestselling McMafia. Shortlisted for the Orwell Prize 2012
Read More
A Quiet Word
A Quiet Word Tamasin Cave, Andy Rowell
An explosive and revelatory account about the British lobbying industry and how it affects us all at every level of our lives.
Read More
The Trigger
The Trigger Tim Butcher
A trek through the Balkans, an exploration of the life of an assassin (the teenager who killed Archduke Franz Ferdinand and so triggered the First World War), and a journey into the history of this complex and fascinating part of the world...
Read More
The Islamic Enlightenment
The Islamic Enlightenment Christopher de Bellaigue
A revelatory history that uncovers the modern foundations of the Islamic world.
Read More
The Impossible State
The Impossible State Victor Cha
The definitive account of North Korea - the most closed, frightening, enigmatic country on earth - its veiled past and uncertain future.
Read More
The Good War
The Good War Jack Fairweather
A searing look at the true cost of America’s ‘good war’ in Afghanistan
Read More
A War of Choice: Honour, Hubris and Sacrifice
A War of Choice: Honour, Hubris and Sacrifice Jack Fairweather
The remarkable, true story of Britain's role in the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, by an award-winning journalist.
Read More
Soon
Soon Charlotte Grimshaw
'Soon is a sly, masterly novel' - Malcolm Forbes, The Literary Review
Read More
The Double-Cross System
The Double-Cross System John Masterman
THE DOUBLE-CROSS SYSTEM is an authentic document from within the espionage empire of the Second World War, written as a secret report for the Intelligence Commission and released for publication only in 1972. Quite simply, it tells how Britain used the enemy against themselves.
Read More
Pity the Billionaire
Pity the Billionaire Thomas Frank
The New York Times bestseller - insightful, infectiously furious and funny: why the worst collapse since the 1930s has brought about the revival of conservatism.
Read More
Bageye at the Wheel
Bageye at the Wheel Colin Grant
In the tradition of Sam Selvon’s Lonely Londoners and V.S.Naipaul’s Miguel Street, Grant's Bageye at the Wheel does for Luton and the UK what Miguel Street did for Naipaul, Port of Spain and Trinidad.
Read More
The Vagenda
The Vagenda Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett, Holly Baxter
'A brilliant exposé of women's mags and marketing - laugh-out-loud' Jeanette Winterson
Read More
Jumpin' Jack Flash
Jumpin' Jack Flash Keiron Pim
A fascinating quest for one of London’s legendary characters
Read More
The Gene
The Gene Siddhartha Mukherjee
The Gene is the story of one of the most powerful and dangerous ideas in our history.
Read More
Macaulay
Macaulay Zareer Masani
The first biography of Thomas Macaulay, from child prodigy to imperial administrator in India and revered elder statesman and historian in Britain
Read More
The Hungry Empire
The Hungry Empire Lizzie Collingham
A mouthwatering journey across the centuries and continents to discover how food drove the British Empire and shaped the world
Read More
The Rise and Fall of Adam and Eve
The Rise and Fall of Adam and Eve Stephen Greenblatt
Pulitzer Prize-winner Stephen Greenblatt tackles the origins of humanity through the most enduring story of all time.
Read More
Load more