> Skip to content
When Breath Becomes Air
When Breath Becomes Air Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.
Read More
The Gulag Archipelago
The Gulag Archipelago Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
'It helped to bring down an empire. Its importance can hardly be exaggerated' Doris Lessing, Sunday Telegraph
Read More
'Cherry' Ingram
'Cherry' Ingram Naoko Abe
A richly illustrated and award-winning Japanese biography, history and exploration of cherry blossom told through the life of an English amateur botanist, rewritten for English readers
Read More
So Much Longing in So Little Space
So Much Longing in So Little Space Karl Ove Knausgaard
Karl Ove Knausgaard on the artist Edvard Munch, and how we experience the world through art
Read More
The Tall Man
The Tall Man Chloe Hooper
The Tall Man is the story of Palm Island, the tropical paradise where one morning Cameron Doomadgee swore at a policeman and forty minutes later lay dead in a watch-house cell.
Read More
H is for Hawk
H is for Hawk Helen MacDonald
**WINNER OF THE COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR** **WINNER OF THE SAMUEL JOHNSON PRIZE FOR NON-FICTION** **WINNER OF THE PRIX DU MEILLEUR LIVRE ÉTRANGER** ‘Dazzling… Deeply affecting, utterly fascinating and blazing with love and intelligence’ Financial Times
Read More
The Iron Lady
The Iron Lady John Campbell
Read the true story that inspired the major new film, The Iron Lady. John Campbell's magisterial biography is the political biography of Margaret Thatcher.
Read More
On Helwig Street
On Helwig Street Richard Russo
This first work of non-fiction from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Empire Falls is at once hilarious and heartbreaking: a son’s poignant tribute to his complicated mother and a brilliant evocation of mid-century America.
Read More
The Ghost
The Ghost Rob White, Julie Welch
From the publishers of My Father and other Working Class Heroes comes the incredible biography of sixties Tottenham Hotspur legend, John White, who died aged 27.
Read More
Darling Monster
Darling Monster Diana Cooper
Society darling, actress, wife of key WW2 politician Duff Cooper… Here are Lady Diana Cooper’s sparkling letters to her son John Julius
Read More
My Life as a Foreign Country
My Life as a Foreign Country Brian Turner
'My Life as a Foreign Country is brilliant and beautiful. It surely ranks with the best war memoirs I've ever encountered - a humane, heartbreaking, and expertly crafted work of literature.' Tim O'Brien, author of The Things They Carried
Read More
The Diamond Smugglers
The Diamond Smugglers Ian Fleming
The fantastic true story of the world's greatest smuggling racket, as told by the creator of James Bond
Read More
Through the Window
Through the Window Julian Barnes
From one of Britain’s greatest writers comes a brilliant collection of essays on the writers that have meant the most to him
Read More
The Divorce of Henry VIII
The Divorce of Henry VIII Catherine Fletcher
The inside story of Henry VIII's divorce from Catherine of Aragon - 'an intricate and fascinating story' Hilary Mantel
Read More
Deaths of the Poets
Deaths of the Poets Michael Symmons Roberts, Paul Farley
An entertaining journey into how the deaths of great poets have shaped our culture's distorted sense of poetry
Read More
Bernard Hinault and the Fall and Rise of French Cycling
Bernard Hinault and the Fall and Rise of French Cycling William Fotheringham
The definitive biography of France’s greatest cyclist by the number one bestselling author of Merckx: Half Man, Half Bike
Read More
A Dancer in Wartime
A Dancer in Wartime Gillian Lynne
A unique memoir about ballet, the second world war and a peerless group of dancers; an irresistible read for all ballet lovers
Read More
The Love and Wars of Lina Prokofiev
The Love and Wars of Lina Prokofiev Simon Morrison
The dramatic untold story of Lina and Serge Prokofiev: a tale of a doomed love and a shattering portrait of an artist
Read More
Diane Arbus
Diane Arbus Arthur Lubow
A revelatory biography of the uncompromising photographer, Diane Arbus
Read More
Threads
Threads Julia Blackburn
A beautifully illustrated account of the search for an undiscovered genius, the Norfolk fisherman who became an artist. Winner of the East Anglian Book of the Year 2015 Winner of the New Angle Book Prize 2017
Read More
Wilfred Owen
Wilfred Owen Jon Stallworthy
A revised and updated edition of Jon Stallworthy's prize-winning and classic biography of the great World War One poet, Wilfred Owen.
Read More
Bageye at the Wheel
Bageye at the Wheel Colin Grant
In the tradition of Sam Selvon’s Lonely Londoners and V.S.Naipaul’s Miguel Street, Grant's Bageye at the Wheel does for Luton and the UK what Miguel Street did for Naipaul, Port of Spain and Trinidad.
Read More
Scott on Waterloo
Scott on Waterloo Walter Scott
As we commemorate the 200th anniversary of the Battle of Waterloo, read Walter Scott's first hand accounts of his travels to the battlefield, in fascinating and bloody detail
Read More
Bradley Wiggins: My Time
Bradley Wiggins: My Time Bradley Wiggins
A full-length, in-depth and intimate memoir by Bradley Wiggins charting his journey to become the first Briton ever to win the Tour de France and his country's most decorated Olympian.
Read More
Load more