> Skip to content
Sapiens
Sapiens Yuval Noah Harari
A series of special editions of the best popular science books to explore the patterns of our planet. Designed by Patternity, the award-winning creative studio and pattern consultancy.
Read More
21 Lessons for the 21st Century
21 Lessons for the 21st Century Yuval Noah Harari
The bestselling phenomenon returns with 21 bite-sized lessons to help us understand our troubled times.
Read More
When Breath Becomes Air
When Breath Becomes Air Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.
Read More
Homo Deus
Homo Deus Yuval Noah Harari
Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus shows us where we're going.
Read More
The Secret Network of Nature
The Secret Network of Nature Peter Wohlleben
From the bestselling author of The Hidden Life of Trees and The Inner Life of Animals, a book that explores the invisible connections that maintain the balance of the entire natural world.
Read More
Invisible Women
Invisible Women Caroline Criado Perez
An exciting and ground-breaking work of journalism and activism about women, and the systemic discrimination caused by a data gap that affects half the population – from an award-winning writer and feminist campaigner, who got a woman on our banknotes and a statue of Millicent Fawcett in Parliament Square
Read More
In Praise of Walking
In Praise of Walking Shane O'Mara
A captivating exploration of the science of a skill that is uniquely human: how we walk. And a hymn to its many benefits for our mental and physical health, and for our society.
Read More
Guns, Germs and Steel
Guns, Germs and Steel Jared Diamond
A series of special editions of the best popular science books to explore the patterns of our planet. Designed by Patternity, the award-winning creative studio and pattern consultancy.
Read More
Behave
Behave Robert M Sapolsky
A groundbreaking synthesis of the entire science of human behaviour by 'one of the best scientist-writers of our time' (Oliver Sacks)
Read More
The Knowledge
The Knowledge Lewis Dartnell
A captivating journey of discovery and a quickstart guide to rebuilding our world after the apocalypse.
Read More
100 Essential Things You Didn't Know You Didn't Know About Maths and the Arts
100 Essential Things You Didn't Know You Didn't Know About Maths and the Arts John D. Barrow
Discover the the unusual and unexpected application of maths that lies behind the arts.
Read More
Serving the Reich
Serving the Reich Philip Ball
An incisive and revealing exploration of the fate of physics under the Nazis – and how scientific idealism led to accommodation with a totalitarian regime.
Read More
Birth of a Theorem
Birth of a Theorem Cédric Villani
A passionate story of inspiration, obsession and partnership, as one of the greatest mathematical minds takes us on an imaginative journey through the discovery of a new theorem.
Read More
Knocking On Heaven's Door
Knocking On Heaven's Door Lisa Randall
One of the most illuminating science books in years, Knocking on Heaven's Door makes clear the biggest scientific questions we face and reveals how answering them could ultimately tell us who we are and where we came from.
Read More
Higgs Discovery
Higgs Discovery Lisa Randall
What is the Higgs boson? And where will its discovery lead? Renowned physicist Lisa Randall explains this landmark event in modern science and its startlingly beautiful implications.
Read More
Wounded
Wounded Emily Mayhew
A homage to the courage and determination of the men and women who cared for – and saved the lives of – the hundreds of thousands of British soldiers who were wounded at the Western Front.
Read More
Mathletics
Mathletics John D. Barrow
From the author of 100 Essential Things You Didn't Know You Didn't Know, a companion volume.
Read More
The Gene
The Gene Siddhartha Mukherjee
The Gene is the story of one of the most powerful and dangerous ideas in our history.
Read More
Rainbow Dust
Rainbow Dust Peter Marren
A uniquely personal book about butterflies and about the people who love them – which, surely, is most of us
Read More
Invisible
Invisible Philip Ball
The invisible is one of the most enduringly seductive ideas in human history. This is its biography.
Read More
Claxton
Claxton Mark Cocker
After the massive, world-spanning, unanimously acclaimed Birds and People Mark Cocker looks in fascinating detail at his home parish in Norfolk and its wildlife
Read More
Dark Matter and the Dinosaurs
Dark Matter and the Dinosaurs Lisa Randall
The most thrilling, genre-busting, unlikely science book you’ll ever read, from the world-renowned, multi-award-winning, superstar physicist Lisa Randall
Read More
The Glass Cage
The Glass Cage Nicholas Carr
A panoramic exposé of the decision-making software running our lives – and how it is changing us all.
Read More
Peak
Peak Anders Ericsson, Robert Pool
Reveals that all of us can excel at our chosen activities and offers a guide to unlocking our potential
Read More
Load more