> Skip to content
The Book Thieves
The Book Thieves Anders Rydell
For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners.
Read More
My Fellow Soldiers
My Fellow Soldiers Andrew Carroll
From the New York Times bestselling author of War Letters and Behind the Lines, Andrew Carroll’s My Fellow Soldiers draws on a rich trove of both little-known and newly uncovered letters and diaries to create a marvelously vivid and moving account of the American experience in World War I, with General John Pershing featured prominently in the foreground.
Read More
Two Worlds
Two Worlds Anne Salmond
Anne Salmond's brilliant study of first contact between Maori and European explorers - a trail-blazing achievement in narrative New Zealand history.
Read More
Between Worlds
Between Worlds Anne Salmond
An epic, award-winning account of Pakeha-Maori relations immediately following Captain Cook's voyages to New Zealand.
Read More
England's Yellow Peril
England's Yellow Peril Anne Witchard
As England suffered heavy casualties at the front during World War One, the nation closed ranks against outsiders at home. England sought to reaffirm its racial dominance at the heart of the empire, and the Chinese in London became the principal scapegoat for anti-foreign sentiment.
Read More
Great Speeches: Words That Made History
Great Speeches: Words That Made History Anon
A great speech has the power to define the times, to inspire, to stir and to motivate.
Read More
City of Protest: A Recent History of Dissent in Hong Kong: Penguin Specials
City of Protest: A Recent History of Dissent in Hong Kong: Penguin Specials Antony Dapiran
An insightful exploration of the historical and social stimuli and implications of civil disobedience, City of Protest offers a compelling look at the often-fraught relationship between politics and belonging, and a city’s struggle to assert itself.
Read More
Thomas Jefferson And The Tripoli Pirates
Thomas Jefferson And The Tripoli Pirates Brian Kilmeade
This is the little-known story of how a newly independent nation was challenged by four Muslim powers and what happened when America’s third president decided to stand up to intimidation.
Read More
ANZAC to Amiens: War Popular Penguins
ANZAC to Amiens: War Popular Penguins C. E. W. Bean
An acknowledged classic of military history, Anzac to Amiens is compelling and compulsory reading for every Australian interested in the nation's bloody  coming of age.
Read More
American Reckoning: The Vietnam War and Our National Identity
American Reckoning: The Vietnam War and Our National Identity Christian G. Appy
Authoritative, insightful, and controversial, urgently speaking to our role in the world today, American Reckoning invites us to grapple honestly with the conflicting lessons and legacies of the Vietnam War.
Read More
The Israel-Arab Reader: A Documentary History of the Middle East Conflic: Eighth Revised and Updated Edition
The Israel-Arab Reader: A Documentary History of the Middle East Conflic: Eighth Revised and Updated Edition Dan Schueftan, Walter Laqueur
In print for nearly half a century, and now in its eighth edition, The Israel-Arab Reader is an authoritative guide to over a century of conflict in the Middle East. It covers the full spectrum of a violent and checkered history—the origins of Zionism and Arab nationalism, the struggles surrounding Israel’s independence in 1948, the Six-Day War and other wars and hostilities over the decades, and the long diplomatic process and many peace initiatives.
Read More
Wars Without End
Wars Without End Danny Keenan
 An absorbing new book on New Zealand's Land Wars - from a Māori perspective.
Read More
The Twilight War: The Secret History of America's Thirty-Year Conflict with Iran
The Twilight War: The Secret History of America's Thirty-Year Conflict with Iran David Crist
For the past three decades, the United States and Iran have been engaged in an unacknowledged secret war. 
Read More
Sweet Poison
Sweet Poison David Gillespie
Sweet Poison exposes one of the great health scourges of our time and offers a wealth of practical and accessible information on how to avoid fructose, increase your enjoyment of food and lose weight.
Read More
A Billion Voices: China's Search for a Common Language: Penguin Specials
A Billion Voices: China's Search for a Common Language: Penguin Specials David Moser
David Moser tells the remarkable story of China's language unification agenda and its controversial relationship with modern politics, challenging our conceptions of what it means to speak and be Chinese.
Read More
The Battle for Lone Pine
The Battle for Lone Pine David W. Cameron
The Battle for Lone Pine is the first book devoted to this cornerstone of the Anzac legend, drawing on unforgettable first-hand accounts scratched into diaries and letters home. The stories of the diggers, as well as the engineers, nurses, sappers, commanders and more, provide an invaluable record of the battle and serve as moving testimony to their courage in appalling conditions.
Read More
The Lucky Country: Popular Penguins
The Lucky Country: Popular Penguins Donald Horne
First published in 1964 The Lucky Country caused a sensation. The book was a wake-up call to an unimaginative nation, an indictment of a country mired in mediocrity and manacled to its past.
Read More
Breaking Rockefeller
Breaking Rockefeller Doran, Peter B., PETER B. DORAN
The incredible tale of how ambitious oil rivals, Marcus Samuel, Jr. and Henri Deterding, joined forces to topple the Standard Oil empire.
Read More
The War Diaries Of Weary Dunlop
The War Diaries Of Weary Dunlop Edward E Dunlop, E.E. Dunlop
This extraordinary first-hand account of Sir Edward 'Weary' Dunlop's experiences as senior medical officer in the infamous prisoner-of-war camps in Java and on the Burma-Thailand Railway, is not only an account of great historical significance but also a testament to the ability of the human spirit to overcome the most unbearably cruel conditions.
Read More
Load more