> Skip to content
1 Out Of 10 Peter Hyman
A fascinating and timely 'reality check' for one of Tony Blair's closest advisors.
Read More
12 Edmondstone Street
12 Edmondstone Street David Malouf
Malouf invites us on an intimate, beautifully described journey into his own past, beginning in his childhood home.
Read More
1415: Henry V's Year of Glory
1415: Henry V's Year of Glory Ian Mortimer
An epic account of King Henry V and the legendary Battle of Agincourt, from the author of the bestselling Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England.
Read More
2Stoned Andrew Loog Oldham
'What a ride and what a read' Sunday Times-'Fantastic' Time Out
Read More
A Bold and Dangerous Family
A Bold and Dangerous Family Caroline Moorehead
Following two bestselling books on the French Resistance, including the Samuel Johnson-shortlisted Village of Secrets, Caroline Moorehead turns her attention to the anti-fascist movement in Italy.
Read More
A Book of Secrets
A Book of Secrets Michael Holroyd
A masterfully atmospheric book of hidden lives and family secrets from the celebrated biographer
Read More
A Broken World
A Broken World
Edited by the bestselling author of Birdsong and Dr Hope Wolf, this is an original and illuminating non-fiction anthology of writing on the First World War.
Read More
A Chance Meeting
A Chance Meeting Rachel Cohen
'An absolutely wonderful book' Joseph O'Connor
Read More
A Corner of Paradise
A Corner of Paradise Brian Thompson
A charming and unconventional love story from Costa prize-winning memoirist Brian Thompson
Read More
A Dancer in Wartime
A Dancer in Wartime Gillian Lynne
An irresistible memoir about a young girl's hard-won path to success as a dancer during the Second World War
Read More
A Double Thread
A Double Thread John Gross
Full of striking characters and odd encounters, this is an evocative picture of a lost London and a vanished culture, but it is also the story of a bookish boy discovering his own path - away from Mile End into the new freedoms of the literary life. Amusing, touching and thoughtful, A Double Thread is a fascinating and unusual memoir of growing up in London's East End and a profound reflection on living with two separate yet entwined legacies, Jewish and English.
Read More
A Fool And His Money
A Fool And His Money Ann Wroe
'Popular history at the highest level' Independent
Read More
A Fork in the Road
A Fork in the Road André Brink
The memoir of one of South Africa's best-loved novelists.
Read More
A Good African Story
A Good African Story Andrew Rugasira
The inspirational story of how an African-owned coffee company became a global brand.
Read More
A Hero for High Times
A Hero for High Times Ian Marchant
A new history of counterculture in the UK, from the release of Heartbreak Hotel in 1956 to the passing of the Criminal Justice Act in 1994
Read More
A House Full of Daughters
A House Full of Daughters Juliet Nicolson
One woman’s investigation into the nature of memory, the past, and above all, love
Read More
A House In Corfu Emma Tennant
A delightful book in the tradition of Peter Mayle and Frances Mayes
Read More
A Lie About My Father
A Lie About My Father John Burnside
A breathtakingly beautiful memoir of childhood
Read More
A Round-Heeled Woman
A Round-Heeled Woman Jane Juska
'Before I turn 67 - next March - I would like to have a lot of sex with a man I like. If you want to talk first, Trollope works for me.' - Small ad in the New York Review of Books
Read More
A Royal Affair
A Royal Affair Stella Tillyard
The acclaimed, bestselling author of ARISTOCRATS returns with a stunning, major new book about a scandal-ridden family trapped between duty, desire and the protocols of royalty - the dramatic story of a king trying to hold family and state together, as both his siblings and his American colonies rebel... A sweeping picture of 18th-century royalty, politics and family affairs, impeccably researched, with glamorous settings, driving narrative, dazzling characters and provocative ideas.
Read More
A Spy Named Orphan
A Spy Named Orphan Roland Philipps
A gripping tale of betrayal and counter-betrayal that tells the story of the most enigmatic member of the Cambridge spy ring – Donald Maclean.
Read More
A Strange Eventful History
A Strange Eventful History Michael Holroyd
A major literary event from ‘one of the greatest biographers of our age’
Read More
A Tale Of Love And Darkness
A Tale Of Love And Darkness Amos Oz
Tragic, comic and incomparable: an autobiographical epic and a comedie humaine for our times, which is both the portrait of an artist and the story of the birth of a nation, spanning several generations and moving with them from Russia, Lithuania, the Ukraine, to Jerusalem.
Read More
A Woman's Education Jill Ker Conway
Jill Ker Conway, one of the most important and influential academic feminists, reflects on her life and times.
Read More
Load more