> Skip to content

News  •  14 October 2019


Atwood, Evaristo: joint Booker winners

Penguin Random House authors Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo share the 2019 Booker Prize.

The 2019 Booker Prize has been awarded, and we’re thrilled to announce it will be shared by Penguin Random House authors Margaret Atwood, for The Testaments, and Bernardine Evaristo, for Girl, Woman, Other.

The highly anticipated sequel to her 1985 dystopian thriller, The Handmaid’s Tale, The Testaments is Atwood’s 18th novel, and with the win, she becomes the fourth author to win the Booker twice (her first was in 2000 for The Blind Assassin). Via the explosive testaments of three women, Atwood lifts the lid on the inner-workings of the patriarchal state of Gilead, and answers questions that have tantalised readers for decades.

Evaristo’s eighth book, Girl, Woman, Other, follows the intertwining stories of twelve distinctive characters: mostly women, black and British. She is the first black woman to receive the prize in its 51-year history, and of sharing the prize she commented that she is ‘absolutely delighted to share it with the legend that is Margaret Atwood.’

The judging panel – Peter Florence, Liz Calder, Xiaolu Guo, Afua Hirsch and Joanna MacGregor – commented that The Testaments and Girl, Woman, Other ‘address the world today and give us insights into it and create characters who resonate with us, and will resonate with us for ages’.

Booker Prize

More features

See all
Announcing the 2019 Booker shortlist

Winners to be announced Monday 14 October.

2021 Stella Prize winner announced

​We are thrilled to share The Bass Rock by Evie Wyld has won the 2021 Stella Prize!

Penguin Literary Prize shortlist announcement

We're thrilled to reveal the shortlist for the 2021 Penguin Literary Prize.

PRH to Release BECOMING Younger Readers Edition

Acclaimed Memoir by Former First Lady of the U.S. Michelle Obama Has Sold More Than 15 Million Copies Worldwide

Penguin Literary Prize 2021

We are thrilled to announce that submissions for the annual Penguin Literary Prize are now open.

Write It Fellowship 2021 now open

We’re thrilled to announce that the 2021 Penguin Random House Australia (PRHA) Write It Fellowship is open for submissions.

A Promised Land, by Barack Obama, to be published in Australia on 18 November

The presidential memoirs of Barack Obama, the 44th president of the United States, will be published in two volumes.

Puffin water bottles are in stores now!

Celebrate 80 years of Puffin in 2020.

The 2020 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner Is…

We’re thrilled to share that Wiradjuri author Tara June Winch’s The Yield has won the 2020 Miles Franklin Literary Award.

One million Bluey books sold in Australia

June 18, 2020 — Penguin Random House announced today that one million copies of Bluey books have sold in Australia.

2020 Miles Franklin shortlist

Winner to be announced on 16 July 2020.

Penguin Literary Prize 2020 winner announced

And the winner is... Sophie Overett!

Looking for more news?

See all news