> Skip to content

News  •  23 April 2019


Write It Fellowship shortlist

The fellowship recipients will be announced 28 June 2019.

We are thrilled to announce the shortlist for Write It, an annual fellowship program that aims to find, nurture and develop unpublished writers across all genres with a focus on under-represented sections of our community.


  • Alyse Lloyd (Qld) – If The Full Moon Loves You (YA Fantasy)
  • Annie McCann (NSW) – Napak Tilas (YA Fiction)
  • Ayesha Inoon (ACT) – The Girl Who Couldn’t Drive (Fiction)
  • Bede Carmody (ACT) – My Place in the Pecking Order (Memoir)
  • Christos Floratos (NSW) – Dead Among Us (Thriller)
  • Judi Morison (NSW) – Crossing the Creek (Historical Fiction)
  • Kaya Wilson (NSW) – As Beautiful as Any Other (Non-Fiction)
  • Kylie Webber (NSW) – Portrait of a Childless Couple (Historical Fiction)
  • Ruhi Lee (Vic) – The Not-So-Subtle Art of Indian Parenting (Memoir) 
  • Sophie Clark (Tas) – Heroine Night (YA Horror)
  • Sydney Khoo (NSW) – The Spider and Her Demons (YA Fantasy)
  • Thuy On (Vic) – Turbulence (Poetry)

Modelled on WriteNow, a similar program run by Penguin Random House in the United Kingdom, both initiatives have been established to respond to the fact that books published are not always reflective of everyone in society, and that the voices of those who might otherwise be overlooked must be championed. The success of the UK program, under which six writers have been offered publishing deals since its inception in 2016, is evidence of this in action.

The fellowship recipients will be announced 28 June 2019.

More features

See all
2022 ABIAs shortlist announced

Winners to be announced on Thursday 9 June.

Write It Fellowship recipients 2021

We're delighted to announce the recipients of the 2021 Write It Fellowship.

Michelle Obama documentary, Becoming, released on 6 May

Netflix have announced a new documentary following Michelle Obama during the publication of her bestselling memoir, Becoming, which will be released on Wednesday 6 May.

The Chestnut Man to become Netflix Original series

We were thrilled to hear Netflix announce its second Danish original series, The Chestnut Man, at Copenhagen TV Festival this week.

Write It Fellowship recipients 2019

Penguin Random House is thrilled to announce the recipients of the inaugural Write It Fellowship.

Announcing The Beautiful Ones by Prince

To be published October 2019. 

2019 ABIAs shortlist

Winners to be announced on Thursday 2 May 2019.

Penguin writes crime thriller

Announcing the first book written by an actual Penguin. To be published 2020. 

2019 Indie Book Awards

We are delighted to share some wins from the 2019 Indie Book Awards.

Penguin Literary Prize winner announced

We are delighted to announce the winner for the 2019 Penguin Literary Prize.

2019 ABIAs longlist

Winners to be announced on Thursday 2 May 2019.  

Looking for more news?

See all news