> Skip to content

News  •  18 March 2019


2019 Indie Book Awards

We are delighted to share some wins from the 2019 Indie Book Awards.

Firstly, congratulations to Chloe Hooper's The Arsonist which won the Non-fiction category at the Awards. 

The Arsonist is a powerful real-life thriller, written with Hooper’s trademark lyric detail and nuance, about one man who deliberately lit two fires near the small town of Churchill, Gippsland on the day that is now known as Black Saturday. 

We are also pleased to share the news that Penguin Random House Australia was awarded Publisher of the Year. Voted by independent booksellers, we are thrilled to have received this recognition. 

Congratulations also to Matilda Bookshop and Farrell's Bookshop, who were awarded Metro and Regional Bookstores of the Year.

Read the full list of winners at the Australian Independent Bookseller Facebook page.

The Indie Book Awards were established in 2008 with the aim of creating a unique award recognising and rewarding the best Australian writing as chosen by Australian Independent Booksellers.

Looking for more news?

See all news