> Skip to content

News  •  27 February 2019


Announcing the shortlist for the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

Winners to be announced 29 April 2019. 

Congratulations to all Penguin Random House authors shortlisted for the 2019 NSW Premier's Literary Awards.  

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction  

  • The Shepherd’s Hut by Tim Winton  

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature  

  • The Dog with Seven Names by Dianne Wolfer   

Ethel Turner Prize for Young Adult’s Literature  

  • I Am Out With Lanterns by Emily Gale  
  • Stone Girl by Eleni Hale   

Multicultural NSW Award  

  • Miss Ex-Yugoslavia by Sofija Stefanovic   

NSW Premier’s Prize for Translation  

  • Stephanie Smee


Thirty judges considered almost 600 entries across 10 prize categories, with the winners to be announced on the eve of the Sydney Writers’ Festival on Monday 29 April 2019. Up to $310,000 in prize money will be awarded including sponsored awards, making them the richest state-funded literary awards in the country.

State Librarian John Vallance FAHA, said: 'This year we celebrate 40 years of the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards. Over the past four decades these Awards have recognised and rewarded hundreds of outstanding Australian writers.'

'This year’s shortlist is yet another shining example of the breadth and depth of literature available in this country,' Dr Vallance said.

2019 Senior Judge, Suzanne Leal, commented: 'In works that challenge the boundaries of genre and form, the nominees find wonder in a crisis-filled world. With wit, compassion, intellectual rigor and careful observation, they consider the triumphs and shortcoming of the past, the challenges of the present and their hopes for the future. My congratulations to each of the nominees for these fine works.'

Voting also opens today for the People’s Choice Award. The winner will be chosen by the public from the shortlist for the 2019 Christina Stead Prize for Fiction. The winner will be announced at the presentation of the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards on 29 April 2019. Vote now.

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have a proud history, both in celebrating achievement by Australian writers and in helping to establish values and standards in Australian literature. 2019 marks the 40 year anniversary of the Awards.

More features

See all
2022 Davitt Awards shortlist announced

The Davitt Awards recognise Australian women crime writers. See which books made the shortlist this year.

2022 Ned Kelly Shortlist Announced

The Ned Kelly Awards recognise and celebrate the very best crime writing has to offer. See which Penguin Random House books have been shortlisted this year...

2022 ABIAs shortlist announced

Winners to be announced on Thursday 9 June.

2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence longlist

We're thrilled to have 14 books featured on the longlist.

The Queen's Birthday Honours 2021

Penguin Random House authors and publisher Julie Watts recognised in this year's list.

Penguin Literary Prize shortlist announcement

We're thrilled to reveal the shortlist for the 2021 Penguin Literary Prize.

Penguin Literary Prize 2021

We are thrilled to announce that submissions for the annual Penguin Literary Prize are now open.

2020 Miles Franklin shortlist

Winner to be announced on 16 July 2020.

Penguin Literary Prize 2020 winner announced

And the winner is... Sophie Overett!

Bluey: the Beach wins 2020 ABIA Book of the Year

For the first time, a children’s picture book has won the Australian Book Industry Awards prestigious Book of the Year prize.

Sophie Overett Q&A

The Penguin Literary Prize winner on inspiration, advice and what's next.

Book clubs
The Spill book club notes

Explore the cycles of love, loss and regret, that can follow a family through the years, with your reading group.

Looking for more news?

See all news