> Skip to content



Penguin Literary Prize Shortlist

Announcing the shortlist for the 2019 Penguin Literary Prize.

We are delighted to announce the five shortlisted authors for the 2019 Penguin Literary Prize.

Established in 2017, in conjunction with Leading Edge Books, this annual Prize is a nod to Penguin Random House’s heritage as the great Australian house of literature, and offers aspiring authors the opportunity to connect with people who can celebrate their work.

The 2019 shortlisted authors are:

  • The Spill, Imbi Neeme (Victoria)
  • Water and Dust, Steve Evans (South Australia)
  • Keysborough, Christopher Raja (Victoria)
  • Little Birds, Sue Goldstiver (Queensland)
  • Almost a Mirror, Kirsten Krauth (Victoria)

These shortlisted authors were selected from a pool of over 400 submissions received from all over Australia.  The judging panel comprised of booksellers representing Leading Edge Books and publishers from Penguin Random House Australia, will determine the 2019 winner.

The winner, to be announced during the annual Leading Edge Books conference in March, will be awarded $20,000 and the potential for publication with Penguin Random House Australia.

Other News

Cover and publication details for Philip Pullman’s The Secret Commonwealth revealed

Further details about the publication of Philip Pullman’s highly-anticipated new book, The Secret Commonwealth, are revealed today. 

Puffin announces 100,000 reasons to get kids reading

54 bookshops across Australia will be getting a share of $100,000 to nurture young readers in their communities.


Looking for more news?

See All News