> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 23 February 2017
  • ISBN: 9781405925303
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook

Written In Bones

The roots of murder run deep...
When a body is found in a tree in The Meadows, Edinburgh's scenic parkland, the forensics suggest the corpse has fallen from a great height.
Detective Inspector Tony McLean wonders whether it was an accident, or a murder designed to send a chilling message?
The dead man had led quite a life: a disgraced ex-cop turned criminal kingpin who reinvented himself as a celebrated philanthropist.
As McLean traces the victim's journey, it takes him back to Edinburgh's past, and through its underworld - crossing paths with some of its most dangerous and most vulnerable people.
And waiting at the end of it all, is the truth behind a crime that cuts to the very heart of the city...
'Crime fiction's next big thing'
Sunday Telegraph
'Oswald's writing is in a class above most'
Daily Express
'Creepy, gritty and gruesome'
Sunday Mirror
'The new Ian Rankin'
Daily Record
'Hugely enjoyable'
'Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers'
Daily Mail

  • Pub date: 23 February 2017
  • ISBN: 9781405925303
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook

About the Author

James Oswald

James Oswald is the author of the Detective Inspector McLean series of crime novels. Currently there are two available, Natural Causes and The Book of Souls. He has also written an epic fantasy series, The Ballad of Sir Benfroin (under the name J D Oswald) as well as comic scripts and short stories.

In his spare time he runs a 350 acre livestock farm in North East Fife, where he raises pedigree Highland Cattle and New Zealand Romney Sheep.

Also by James Oswald

See all

Related titles