> Skip to content
  • Published: 20 October 2020
  • ISBN: 9781787302273
  • Imprint: Harvill Secker
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 160
  • RRP: $24.99

Without Ever Reaching the Summit

A Himalayan Journey




International bestseller Paolo Cognetti, author of The Eight Mountains, on the quiet joys of not racing straight to the snowy peak

An awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth, from the author of international bestseller The Eight MountainsPaolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make: to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan region where Nepal meets Tibet. He took with him two friends, a notebook, mules and guides, and a well-worn copy of The Snow Leopard. Written in 1978, Matthiessen's classic was also turning forty, and Cognetti set out to walk in the footsteps of the great adventurer.Without Ever Reaching the Summit combines travel journal, secular pilgrimage, literary homage and sublime mountain writing in a short book for readers of Macfarlane, Rebanks and Cognetti's own bestseller, The Eight Mountains. An investigation into the author's physical limits, an ancient mountain culture, and the magnificence of nature, it is an awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth.

  • Published: 20 October 2020
  • ISBN: 9781787302273
  • Imprint: Harvill Secker
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 160
  • RRP: $24.99

About the author

Paolo Cognetti

Paolo Cognetti was born in 1978 in Milan. He divides his time between the city and his cabin 6,000 feet up in the Italian Alps. His international bestseller, The Eight Mountains, is published in 38 countries, and won both Italy’s Premio Strega and the French Prix Médicis étranger. Without Ever Reaching the Summit: A Himalayan Journey is his most recent book.

Also by Paolo Cognetti

See all

Related titles