> Skip to content
  • Published: 16 March 2022
  • ISBN: 9780241567111
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $22.99

We Are The Beaker Girls




A heartbreaking, compelling and timely story for older readers about teen pregnancy and its consequences, family trouble and unlikely friendships, set in 1960.

A heartbreaking, compelling and timely story for older readers about teen pregnancy and its consequences, family trouble and unlikely friendships, set in 1960.

When Laura meets a French exchange student, Leon, she is flattered by his interest in her. She's never had any sort of boyfriend before.

One night, Leon walks Laura home - and her life will never be the same again.

Things start to change for Laura - first her moods, and then her body. Laura isn't prepared for what she learns next - and doesn't even know how it could have happened.

When her family learns her secret, they are horrified. Sent away to save them from shame, Laura meets girls just like herself, whose families have given up on them - and they become a family for each other at the most difficult time in all their lives.

An emotional and moving tale for fans of Dear Nobody and Juno.

  • Published: 16 March 2022
  • ISBN: 9780241567111
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $22.99

About the authors

Jacqueline Wilson

Jacqueline Wilson wrote her first novel when she was nine years old, and she has been writing ever since. She is now one of Britain’s bestselling and most beloved children’s authors. She has written over 100 books and is the creator of characters such as Tracy Beaker and Hetty Feather. More than forty million copies of her books have been sold.

As well as winning many awards for her books, including the Children’s Book of the Year, Jacqueline is a former Children’s Laureate, and in 2008 she was appointed a Dame.

Jacqueline is also a great reader, and has amassed over 20,000 books, along with her famous collection of silver rings.

Find out more about Jacqueline and her books at www.jacquelinewilson.co.uk

Nick Sharratt

Nick Sharratt has written and illustrated many books for children including Shark in the Park, You Choose and Pants. He has won numerous awards for his picture books, including the Sheffield Children's Book Award and the 2001 Children's Book Award. He has also enjoyed stellar success illustrating Jacqueline Wilson's books. Nick lives in Brighton.

Related titles