> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 18 June 2015
  • ISBN: 9781405909433
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook

Watch The Lady




As Penelope signs the letter the scratch of quill on paper seems deafening. For this letter could seal her fate. As a traitor. As a target. As a marked woman.

Following the acclaimed Queen's Gambit and Sisters of Treason, Watch the Lady is Elizabeth Fremantle's new novel of intrigue and menace at the Tudor Court. . .



THE QUEEN'S GODDAUGHTER.


HER FAVOURITE MAID.


HER DEADLIEST ENEMY?



Penelope Devereux is a legendary beauty in the court of Elizabeth I, with a smile that would light up the shadows of hell. But it's not just her looks which have won her favour with the Queen wing; her canny instinct for being in the right place at the right time, and her skilled political manoeuvrings under the guise of diplomacy, have rendered her a formidable adversary to anyone who stands in her path. Including Elizabeth.



For Penelope must secure the future of the Devereux dynasty at whatever cost. Even treason. And the Queen, a woman she holds responsible for the death of her father, the exile of her mother and her failure to marry the one man she ever truly loved, is just one more pawn in a deadly game.



Walking the knife-edge of court, whilst ensuring that her reckless brother Essex remains the only star in the Queen's firmament - and out of the Tower - Penelope must plan for the inevitable succession of an ailing monarch.



But her secret letters of friendship to a foreign King - one who has a strong claim to the English throne - could see her illustrious family in the gutter and her own head on the block. It would only take a single mistake, a slip of the tongue, an intercepted message for Penelope to become the architect of her downfall.



In a world where sister is turned against brother, husband against wife, courtier against queen, the rules of the game are forever changing.



Celebrated poet's muse. Trusted maid. Adulteress. Enemy of the state.



Who is the real Penelope?



Discover the truth in Elizabeth Fremantle's stunning new novel about an extraordinary woman who helped change the course of England's history forever.



This sumptuous historical drama is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Hilary Mantel.



Praise for Elizabeth Fremantle:



'An endlessly fascinating era, and Fremantle manages to combine pacey storytelling with superb background. . .it's terrifically entertaining.' Sunday Times



'Rich and Enticing' Stylist

'Gripping' Woman and Home


Elizabeth Fremantle holds a first in English and an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck. As a Fashion Editor she has contributed to various publications including Vogue, Elle, and Vanity Fair. Watch the Lady follows on from her previous novels Queen's Gambit and Sisters of Treason.
%%%Penelope Devereux is a legendary beauty in the court of Elizabeth but it's not just her looks which mark her apart.



With her canny instinct for being in the right place at the right time, and her skilled political manipulation, she has become a formidable adversary to anyone who stands in her path.



And now, Penelope must secure the future of the Devereux dynasty at whatever cost. Even treason. For the Queen is just one more pawn in a deadly game.
%%%THE QUEEN'S GODDAUGHTER.

HER MOST TRUSTED MAID.

ADULTRESS.

ENEMY OF THE STATE.

WHO IS THE REAL PENELOPE DEVEREUX?

Penelope Devereux is a legendary beauty in the court of Elizabeth I, with a smile that would light up the shadows of hell. But it's not just her looks which have won her favour with the Queen wing; her canny instinct for being in the right place at the right time, and her skilled political manoeuvrings under the guise of diplomacy, have rendered her a formidable adversary to anyone who stands in her path. Including Elizabeth.

For

  • Pub date: 18 June 2015
  • ISBN: 9781405909433
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook

Also by Elizabeth Fremantle

See all

Related titles