> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 31 May 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446492994
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 304

Torn Apart

The True Story of a Childhood Lost




Torn Apart is a true story of one family's courage, heartbreak, sacrifice and ultimately, triumph.

Cory Friedman was an ordinary fun-loving little boy. But one fateful March morning in 1989, the course of Cory's life changed dramatically. It started with an irresistible urge to shake his head; before long, overtaken by physical urges, tics and compulsions, his body became a volatile, explosive and unpredictable force.

Cory had developed a rare combination of Tourette's syndrome, obsessive-compulsive disorder, anxiety disorder and other neurological conditions. The life he knew had been torn apart and his family were left watching him suffer. Desperate to help and hopeful of a cure, they embarked on a fifteen-year struggle which took them beyond breaking point.

  • Pub date: 31 May 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446492994
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 304

About the Author

James Patterson

JAMES PATTERSON is one of the best-known and biggest-selling writers of all time. His books have sold in excess of 385 million copies worldwide. He is the author of some of the most popular series of the past two decades – the Alex Cross, Women’s Murder Club, Detective Michael Bennett and Private novels – and he has written many other number one bestsellers including romance novels and stand-alone thrillers.

James is passionate about encouraging children to read. Inspired by his own son who was a reluctant reader, he also writes a range of books for young readers including the Middle School, I Funny, Treasure Hunters, Dog Diaries and Max Einstein series. James has donated millions in grants to independent bookshops and has been the most borrowed author of adult fiction in UK libraries for the past eleven years in a row. He lives in Florida with his wife and son.

Also by James Patterson

See all

Praise for Torn Apart

“Highly readable and emotionally affecting”

Mirror

“A work of naked truth, as disturbing as it is important ... This true story of Hal Friedman's son, Cory, is a gift of honesty, huge courage, and hope, and a reminder that against all medical advice and odds, human beings can prevail”

Patricia Cornwell

“[Torn Apart] is both harrowing and heartbreaking, but is also a story of astonishing courage. This book stands as a testament to the amazing power of one family's unconditional love for each other”

Tess Gerritsen

“In the tradition of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Patterson and Friedman manage to get deep inside debilitating illness, and show us what life looks like from that perspective. [Torn Apart] is an amazing story of courage, fortitude and a family's love, simply told”

Terri Cheney, author of Manic: A Memoir

“Inspiring . . . a testament to the importance of family and the resilient nature of the human spirit”

George Pelecanos, author of The Turnaround

“Against Medical Advice is a true story that reads like the most riveting of pageturners. Read it and feel at gut-level what it's like to be a child whose life is almost destroyed by a hellish array of nightmare medical symptoms. Best of all, watch what happens when an entire family stands together against all odds, armed with strength, perseverance, and love for one another”

Lisa Scottoline, author of Lady Killer


Related titles